Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
needs a bit more liquid but is lovely. just adjust as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it was really good. I used 2 sticks butter, 1tablespoon vanilla, 4 tablespoons lemon juice, then added sugar until I had the right consistency, probably about 1 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Grace says "very lemony!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
As is, the recipe is way too sweet and the consistancy too thick. It was more like a real sugary frosting, not a lemon icing. I added the juice of 1 1/2 fresh lemons and a bit of whipping cream to thin it out. It came out perfect. But I think I could use even more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Easy to make but too sugary and not lemony enough. So, I added zest of 1 large lemon and the juice of that lemon instead of the 2 Tbsp. called for. Leave the rest of the recipe as is and spread over slightly warm, not hot, cake that has been pierced all over. It will partially sink into the cake and still ice the top, and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Love this frosting. I don't recommend adding lemon juice to thin the texture. It loses some of the creaminess. The thickness of the recipe as written worked fine for frosting my cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good recipe. Yes, the frosting is sweet but what frosting isn't? I added a teaspoon more fresh lemon juice since I like my frosting a little more tart. I also highly recommend adding at least 2 extra tsp of whipping cream because this frosting is super dense and unspreadable. It turned out perfect for my lemon cupcakes w/those tweaks. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StarStacey
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I will try using less lemon the next time it was almost a little to sour for me. Will try less and review again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarStacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Oof, it started out badly when I didn't put enough lemon juice, but when I sorted it out this recipe was wonderful! I used it on the Lemon Fluff Cake and it all turned out wonderfully. Great recipe for lemony icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleMissDisaster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe was too sweet for my taste. Also you must use real lemons and not lemon extract or bottled lemon juice from concentrate. I would also agree with the previous recommendation to use extra lemon juice. I used 3 tablespoons of bottled lemon juice and the juice squeezed from one small lemon, adding only half teaspoon of vanilla about quarter cup extra of the powdered sugar (make to your desired consistency). It turned out very lemony and lovely spread over a store bought lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States