Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Great base recipe. I ended up adding the juice from a whole lemon (it's more like 4ish tablespoons than 2) as well as a tablespoon-ish of half n half in order to make it go from super stiff icing to creamy enough to smear over a lemon loaf cake I made in an attempt to duplicate Starbuck's lemon pound cake (my fav). I used the "Lemon Cake" recipe from this site using a box of yellow cake mix and a box of lemon pudding. I didn't make that recipe's icing, obviously, and I put them in my 1lb bread pans and baked for 35min at 350. I glazed them with *this* recipe's icing after the loaves cooled for 15min and the icing formed a perfect layer on the top and then slightly dripped down the sides just like Starbucks! They are in the fridge cooling right now -- can't wait to see how they taste, but they look picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This icing perfectly complimented a coconut cake and has a good balance between sweet and lemony. It held its shape nicely when piped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A great, easy recipe for lovely lemon cake frosting! When I'd just made it, I thought there might be too much lemon juice in it, but once I'd iced the cake with it, I realised it was perfect. It was maybe a tad bit dry, but this might be my mistake of not having enough icing sugar and using 70g of white sugar instead to substitute. Otherwise, a very nice way to add a little lemon taste to an ordinary yellow cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PorcelainFox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Marbella, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I could just eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Added 1/4 t lemon extract for extra lemon zing! Needed maybe 25% more to fully ice a 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Best and Easiest icing I've ever made. I like that it doesn't need past. eggs white. I fail at those. Also I doubled the lemon juice as it was for a lemon cake. Tasted great! Will def. use it for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
So very good! I use this on cookies, cupcakes, etc. Whenever I need a lemon icing I always go back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
It was a bit too sweet and the icing was way too thick. If i were to use this recipe again I would add more butter and halve the recipe. The lemon flavor was fairly strong when in added some lemon and lime zest. Overall it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteCalicoCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used this on vanilla cupcakes and...wow! Delicious! The only small change I made was by adding a dash of zest - not much - the zest of two lemon slices. This will be my go to lemon frosting recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Delicious...BUT needs tweaks.you must sift the confectioners sugar, the butter must be at room temperature, and more lemon is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States