Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I wanted this to pour over a lemon bunt cake, so I didn't want it too stiff. I ended up using 3 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and letting the warm cake do the rest. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
As written, way too sweet and thick. After making as directed and tasting it, I quadrupled the lemon juice. Then I added 1 Tbsp milk per other reviews, and it curdled. The end result was tangy and a good consistency, but nothing like the original recipe. And the curdling, while it still tasted fine, made all my dinner guests ask "what are we eating?" Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
needs a bit more liquid but is lovely. just adjust as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it was really good. I used 2 sticks butter, 1tablespoon vanilla, 4 tablespoons lemon juice, then added sugar until I had the right consistency, probably about 1 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Grace says "very lemony!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
As is, the recipe is way too sweet and the consistancy too thick. It was more like a real sugary frosting, not a lemon icing. I added the juice of 1 1/2 fresh lemons and a bit of whipping cream to thin it out. It came out perfect. But I think I could use even more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Easy to make but too sugary and not lemony enough. So, I added zest of 1 large lemon and the juice of that lemon instead of the 2 Tbsp. called for. Leave the rest of the recipe as is and spread over slightly warm, not hot, cake that has been pierced all over. It will partially sink into the cake and still ice the top, and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Love this frosting. I don't recommend adding lemon juice to thin the texture. It loses some of the creaminess. The thickness of the recipe as written worked fine for frosting my cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good recipe. Yes, the frosting is sweet but what frosting isn't? I added a teaspoon more fresh lemon juice since I like my frosting a little more tart. I also highly recommend adding at least 2 extra tsp of whipping cream because this frosting is super dense and unspreadable. It turned out perfect for my lemon cupcakes w/those tweaks. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StarStacey
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I will try using less lemon the next time it was almost a little to sour for me. Will try less and review again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarStacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States