Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This frosting is great. A little lemon juice was added to make a more creamy consistency. It was very sweet but I will be thinking of ways to decrease the sweetness so I can reuse. I really like the way you can change it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great icing used it on top of Melt in Your Mouth Blueberry Cake. Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I really love this icing. It has a subtle lemon taste to it and I like to use it for spreading on cookies, drizzling on my german pancakes, etc. For a little more runnier icing just add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I wanted this to pour over a lemon bunt cake, so I didn't want it too stiff. I ended up using 3 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and letting the warm cake do the rest. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
As written, way too sweet and thick. After making as directed and tasting it, I quadrupled the lemon juice. Then I added 1 Tbsp milk per other reviews, and it curdled. The end result was tangy and a good consistency, but nothing like the original recipe. And the curdling, while it still tasted fine, made all my dinner guests ask "what are we eating?" Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
needs a bit more liquid but is lovely. just adjust as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it was really good. I used 2 sticks butter, 1tablespoon vanilla, 4 tablespoons lemon juice, then added sugar until I had the right consistency, probably about 1 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Grace says "very lemony!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
As is, the recipe is way too sweet and the consistancy too thick. It was more like a real sugary frosting, not a lemon icing. I added the juice of 1 1/2 fresh lemons and a bit of whipping cream to thin it out. It came out perfect. But I think I could use even more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Easy to make but too sugary and not lemony enough. So, I added zest of 1 large lemon and the juice of that lemon instead of the 2 Tbsp. called for. Leave the rest of the recipe as is and spread over slightly warm, not hot, cake that has been pierced all over. It will partially sink into the cake and still ice the top, and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States