Lemon Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The flavor is good, but it came out super sweet and stiff. I had a real hard time trying to spread it on my cakes. So, I modified the recipe and added an extra Teaspoon of lemon juice to counter the sweetness and a tablespoon of milk really helped to soften things up and make it more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Roberge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent. Cut back about 1/4 C on sugar then thinned with additional lemon juice and milk. Beating for an extended period of time made the icing easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rushed culinary
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved this icing. I used fresh lemon juice like another review suggested. Used it for a double layer lemon cake. It spread very nicely and was not too sweet. I'll be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is a nice simple recipe to make, I use it all the time when I make lemon cake or cupcakes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great, easy recipe. My husband found it a little sweet, but everyone else LOVED it! I did find it didn't produce as much as I would have liked so I'll one and a half it this time around. Tastes very fresh and NOT packaged. Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used only two cups of confectioners sugar and have the PERFECT consistency, I added a little lemon zest to give it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe for lemon icing! Tart, fresh and sweet like it should be. I served it as one of two frostings on a strawberry and lemon cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used this recipe to decorate lemon cupcakes using various decorator tips, as I am practicing various techniques before I start taking cake decorating classes. It worked pretty well for that after a bit of refrigeration. The icing was very sweet, so I sprinkled it with lemon zest. It looked fancy and counteracted the sweetness. Served them at a get-together and they were a huge hit! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great taste, easy to make and kids lived the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Yum! I made this for lemon fiesta cake from this site. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States