Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marisa
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
Love this recipe. It is super easy. I did modify it a little. Like someone else suggested, I use 1 package cream cheese and 1 cup cool whip. I like the texture and flavor better this way. I also use 1 lemon and 1 lime. Or, I use 1 lemon and 1.5 teaspoons of lavender extract. You will see both in my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I've made this recipe for the past 6 years and since then realized that it's foolproof. I never really measure the lemon juice and I use the zest of 2-4 lemons. But for best results, WAIT 1 DAY BEFORE EATING! It lasts for 10 days in the fridge, so let it really mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerine Demure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shana Simser
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
We loved this pie. It has just the right amount of tang. Very mild which was perfect for us, not to sour. The only thing I did differently was I added blueberries. It was a hit at our party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Simser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
Although I did make a change this recipe still deserves 5 stars. I only used 1 pkg cream cheese because of preference. We wanted a lemon pie not cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Awesome dessert! Like those who recommended it, I only used one block of cream cheese and a cup of Cool Whip. I also zested two lemons right into the mixing bowl, so I probably ended up with more zest than the recipe called for. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty MacDuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Excellent. I used bottled lemon juice and made a shortcrust pastry from this site, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. And when I make it again, and make it again I will, but I will use a baked crust - pastry or graham. It set up beautifully, the lemon taste was perfect - my guests thoroughly enjoyed every bite. UPDATE: the filling made far more than enough for one pie so I made two pies, freezing the second. When I served it to company several days later it was every bit as good as when freshly made. I just added some whipped cream to the top to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Made this Pie for a small group Bible Study I teach. This was my first time making this recipe so I was not sure how it would come out. Let me say this pie was a huge hit everyone who tried it loved it. This was a very easy pie to make. I love lemon flavored desserts so I gave this one a try. I did make a few changes. I didn't have fresh lemon so I used bottled lemon 1/4 cup x2 and I added a box a lemon pudding mix. It worked out fine they love it and asked me to make another for next week. Thanks Ms. Heather for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cicely Morrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I read every review & using their recommendations the pie was outstanding & is a wonderful dessert to serve to family and guests. I always leave cream cheese out overnite to soften & avoid the little lumps. To avoid the "cream cheese flavor" I added 1/4 cup sugar to the cream cheese and beat the two together for 5 minutes. I then added the condensed milk and 1 tsp. of vanilla, the juice of 2 very large lemons and all the zest from both lemons. I did not care for the prepared graham cracker crust so next time will make my own crust or as some suggested use the shortbread crust. Other than that, it is a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Added just a drop of essential lemon oil and this desert was outstanding! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have made this recipe many times and always with rave reviews. This time I beat it for an extra 5 minutes like suggested from another review and it was extremely creamy. So that will help for those that think it's a little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States