Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I read every review & using their recommendations the pie was outstanding & is a wonderful dessert to serve to family and guests. I always leave cream cheese out overnite to soften & avoid the little lumps. To avoid the "cream cheese flavor" I added 1/4 cup sugar to the cream cheese and beat the two together for 5 minutes. I then added the condensed milk and 1 tsp. of vanilla, the juice of 2 very large lemons and all the zest from both lemons. I did not care for the prepared graham cracker crust so next time will make my own crust or as some suggested use the shortbread crust. Other than that, it is a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Added just a drop of essential lemon oil and this desert was outstanding! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have made this recipe many times and always with rave reviews. This time I beat it for an extra 5 minutes like suggested from another review and it was extremely creamy. So that will help for those that think it's a little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Very easy to make and has a nice tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I loved this pie! I'm giving a 4 instead of 5 because I did deviate from the original recipe. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and only used one 8oz package of cream cheese. Instead of folding in cool whip, I beat a 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream (with 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, 1/4 tsp of lemon extract and 1 tbs of confectioners sugar) and folded that in. I put the pie in the freezer an hour before I served it and topped with whipped cream. I saw a lot of people had different opinions on the strength of the lemon flavor in the pie. I used the zest and juice of two large lemons and it was perfect for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fast, easy, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It was soupy and it tasted fake, even though I used real lemon, real cream, real everything. Will look for an alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Excellent!!!!! I used the juice from 2 1/2 large lemons and 1 tsp. of lemon peel. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
After reviewing the reviews I used only one package of low-fat cream cheese, one cup of 50% less sugar condensed milk, added one cup of nonfat Cool Whip, 1 tsp vanilla, and the zest and juice of 3 lemons. After adding each ingredient slowly, beat on high with the mixer about 5 minutes until fluffy. AWESOME! So light and lemony. Hubby loooved this, he is a big lemon fan and this is our new fave. Instead of using a store-bought pie crust I made my own graham cracker crust and pressed it into cupcakes in a silicone pan. Put them in the freezer for a few hours for 12 ready-to-serve individual mini-pies. It is easy to pop these mini-pies out of the silicone pan and they soften in about a half hour. Topped each with a dab of Cool Whip. Keeping uneaten portions frozen prevents us from eating a whole pie in one or two days!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this as a quick dessert for a summer BBQ. I am a terrible baker, so I love any dessert that uses store bought crust and has a no fail filling. I made this the night before and it held up really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States