Lemon Icebox Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
We loved this, but I did modify it just a little. I only had 8 oz cream cheese, so I folded about a cup of Cool Whip into the mix. I also used the juice of 1 lemon and 1 lime. Added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon orange extract. The recipe I normally use for lemon icebox pie only calls for condensed milk and lemon juice, but I like this recipe better, because I believe the cream cheese tones down the flavor of the condensed milk. We really enjoyed the creaminess and light lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! The pie comes out beautiful and so tasty. I used the zest and juice of 3 lemons and it turned out great. Just enough tartness to offset the sweetness of the cream cheese and condensed milk. A hint? Keep it in the freezer for a while before you eat it, makes it even more refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this pie tonight for a dinner party and everybody loved it. I did however, use the zest of 4 lemons! I also used a regular crust intstead of the graham. I really whipped the heck out of it to make it thick and creamy. UPDATE: USE THE ZEST OF 4 LEMONS, NOT THE JUICE OF 4 LEMONS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This was extremely easy to make and pleased my dinner guests. I recommend adding the cool-whip topping...it made the dessert much better. I also made my lower in fat by using lite cool-whip and fat free cream cheese! Every little bit helps! Be sure to blend the cream sheese well before adding lemon juice or it will curdle and taste terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is actually one of my favorite summertime recipes for it's light refreshing flavor, the fact that it's an easy no bake recipe, and doesn't call for cool whip or jello. I've made it often and it's one of my most popular desserts. Seeing that it has some very mixed reviews, mostly addressing consistency and flavor, I will offer this...cans of sweetened condensed milk only come in 300 ml (10 oz) sizes around here so that's the amount I use, and it sets up quite well for me, so I would recommend using that amount only. Because the size of a lemon can vary and the recipe doesn't give a specific amount of juice, I would suggest adding the juice to taste so it doesn't get too tart. If more lemon flavor is desired, but it's tart enough, up the amount of lemon zest instead of adding more juice. To ensure a smooth filling, be sure to scrape down the bowl after beating the cream cheese, and add the milk and lemon slowly, again scraping the bowl occasionally until all is well incorporated. Finally, I have found that beating the mixture for a good five minutes after it's smooth yields a very light textured, mousse like result. Be sure to also use a 'tnt' crust if going the store bought route or it may detract from the overall flavor of the finished pie. I prefer to just mix up some graham crumbs, butter, and sugar if needed, and press into the pie plate. It isn't always necessary to bake a crumb crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Disappointing. I thought two packages of cream cheese would be too much and I should have followed my instincts instead of the reviews (and made the other Lemon Icebox Pie recipe on this site that calls for only ONE package of cream cheese, darn it) Too cream cheesey tangy, not sweet enough because of it (I'm sure the sweetness level would be fine if only one package of cream cheese was used) and not lemony enough, even tho' I nearly doubled the amount of zest called for. I also made my own crust, using "Graham Cracker Crust," also from this site. It's a pretty pie, but it's not as mouthwatering good as it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was EXCELLENT. I made it twice in one week. I used a shortbread ready-made pie crust from the store and fat-free cream cheese. I used real lemons one day and the next time I used a 1/2 cup of lemon juice from consentrate. Both worked out well. We kept it in the freezer until ready to serve. Thanks for a quick and perfect summer pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very easy to make, and loved by everyone. I did use the juice of two lemons, and the zest of two lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This is great recipe, especially for the hot summer months when you don't want to turn on your oven. The second time I made this pie I used fat free condensed milk, 1/3 less fat cream cheese and fat free cool whip to cut fat down to 10g. Do not use low fat condensed milk, from my past experience it does not thicken as well as the fat free or regular when citrus is added. Have not tried the fat free cream cheese yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Whew! This one has been a big hit. Even my 5 year old likes it, she's not much of a sweet eater. I don't know how that happened. I did increase it to the juice of 3 lemons for our tastes. This one will be on the menu alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States