Lemon Icebox Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This recipe is by far the best!!! I remember as a little girl eating lemon icebox pie. I've had a hard time finding anyone that knew what I was talking about when mentioning this pie. I am very thankful to have found it! It tastes even better than I remembered. My husband helped me make it. So that right there tells you how easy it was to make. I ate one piece and my husband ate the rest.It was soooo good!!! Our two year old daughter liked it as well. It didn't even last a full 24 hours. I know that it's goining to be a favorite of the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
You MUST pay attention to the specified sizes on the evaporated and sweetened condensed milk. The cans specified are much smaller than those that are available at my grocery store, so I had to measure out 10 ounces of each. The pie set right up, within half an hour. If I'd put two regular sized cans of both types of milk in, the pie would quite likely have been the runny mess others have described. But if you pay attention to the measurements, you get something that tastes and feels almost exactly like the pies I remember my great aunt making in old-fashioned metal ice cube trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Just add a packet of unflavored gelatin. Per directions for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
my mother used to make this pie when I was a kid back in Louisiana. I have been looking for years for this recipe...this is the one...thank you.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I tried this reciped twice and I end up with a soupy liquid mixture that never thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I agree if you mix it with rightly measured ingredients and mine firmed right up! I used a pre-made pie crust...so I had left over pie filling so I added another 8oz cream cheese to it and an cup of sugar to the remains and to me that "pie filling" was even better... I belive recipes are designed to be changed to suit ur taste...so if you like a little extra cream...add some! This will also help with the FIRMNESS! :) EAT ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I have tried this recipe several times. I finally realized that it takes about two days in a cold fridge for filling to set. If you try to freeze the filling for several hours, it will get soupy when defrosted to eat. Some sort of reaction must take place between lemon juice and condensed milk and this takes "TIME". I will try to reduce pet milk and mix lemon juice and condensed milk first before adding ingrediants seperatly into the whole mix. Best tating lemon pie I ever ate and all my friends think so too! This is the only saving grace for this pie though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
A KITCHEN DISASTER: 1. WARNING: PHOTO IS MISLEADING! A traditional, round pie is shown, but the recipe calls for a 9 X 13 inch baking dish. Without reading the recipe, I glanced at the photo and included a pre-packaged, deep-dish graham cracker pie crust on my shopping list. Sure enough, I had about 2 cups of extra filling leftover, which I stored in seperate containers to be eaten like pudding. Who cooks a "pie" in a 9 X 13 inch baking dish? 2. It gets worse: FILLING DID NOT SET! This after 24 hours refrigeration. Obviously there is too much of a liquid ingredient, which one I'm not sure. I was very careful with the measurements, careful to correctly translate the outdated listed quantities (evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milk are available today in 12 and 10 oz. cans, respectively, not 5 oz.). The mixture wasn't "firm" as stated. The end result was a gloopy mess, less set than pudding. The leftover filling I had reserved never set, either, after days of refrigeration. The taste was good, deepening the mystery of which ingredient was over-quantified. So many cooks have had setting failure with this recipe that it should be removed from the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Was tasty but too much cheese. Taste like lemon cheese cake. I cooked for 15 minutes on 350 to set the pie, had a great soft but firm texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This pie was excellent. Made it according to directions, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States