Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is the exact recipe I have used since my teenage years and I am now in my 70's. The only thing I do different now is bake it for 20 minutes on 350 degrees after pouring into the graham cracker crust. That takes care of the raw eggs and the taste is exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I've made this for years and every Thanksgiving/Christmas dinners. Everyone loves it. This same recipe was handed down from my mom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've been making this pie for several years and it is always good. Very easy for a beginner. I like a little more tartness so I add a little lemon zest when mixing the filling. I also bake mine for about 10 min at 375 degrees to brown the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I'm an amateur with meringue. As per the recipe as I understood it, I turned on the broiler to the highest setting. I'm pretty sure that's about 500 degrees, although the only selections on the broiler section of my electric oven are off, high, and low. How long is "until meringue is set and golden"? I left it in less than two minutes, then smoke started coming out of the oven. The meringue was burnt black, but under the black crust, it wasn't cooked at all. I saved the pie by carefully prying off the crust, then baking it at 350 for 15 minutes. Came out just fine. I figured that I really just didn't know what I was doing, but neighbors, who are pretty good cooks, thought something was wrong with the recipe. How long should I have left it in the broiler?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
If you are not comfortable with the meringue, I use cool whip it's a very good and easy substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I know I follwed this exactly. I even added the 4 ounces of cream cheese, but it was too runny. The meringue did come out perfect.Maybe I should have added the entire 8 ounces of cream cheese. I did refrig for 3 hours prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
well i dont know about everyone else but i am a young chef in the making rhis recipe was absolutely most def delicious i make it quite often... only extract step i took was putting vanilla extract in it just a drop... oh so yummy in our tummy! i hand whipped my meringue... took time but it surely was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Boy was this easy! Just popped it in the fridge and can't wait. My wife's favorite is lemon ice box pie. If I had known how easy this was I would have done one a long time ago. Will update results tomorrow. Five stars on ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is exactly the way all the women in my family have made lemon pie for years. I use a pie crust instead of graham crackers, but don't change a thing! It's perfect exactly the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Exactly like my Mother's.. I made no changes....I like it just like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States