Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Note to self -- next time don't try to whip the meringue topping by hand.... use mixer. Yes, I tried it by hand but before I got it to peak my arm cramped up. Stuck it in the over anyway. Surely not as pretty as it was intended to look, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
For those afraid of the raw eggs, just purchase the pasturized whites and yolks and there's no need to worry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
i thing it was a great recipe my grandma made it and my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluesparkle97
Living In: Lincoln, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
My grandma made this pie for all special occasions, and replaced the graham cracker crust with the real thing. This was the first pie she taught me to bake when I was 11, and I still make it to this day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Thanks, I have been looking for this for a long time. My mon used to make this every year. She died in 97 and never wrote it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a easy pie to make my family loved it. For those who are worried about the raw eggs you put the pie in an oven at 500 degrees this will kill any bactera. So smile and enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. My family has made it for as long as I can remember..the only difference being the crust. Instead of a store bought crust we make our own out of crushed vanilla waffers and butter. In a rush we will also substitute cool whip for the merang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved the pie. I do add a little lemon extract. the meringue needs help though. I found out if you use a small bowl, powdered surger, and cream of tartar also whip the egg whites before you add a pinch of tartar and 6 tbs. powdered suger slowely while still whiping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was hesitant to make this since everyone seemed to "tweak" the recipe. I made it EXACTLY like it said on the recipe, and the meringue would not stiffen, and the pie was VERY tart! I served it to my family which consists of a chef, and I was so embarrassed. I did not even want to serve it after seeing it come out of the broiler with hardly any meringue, but my husband insisted. I wish people would rate the recipes according to the recipe, not what they did to make it better. It makes it very confusing for the amateur cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a really easy pie to make! My grandfather used to love this pie so I was really looking forward to making it, however Granddaddy must have had a sweet tooth the size of Texas. This is a really sweet pie!! It was very good in very small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States