Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I grew up making this recipe and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I took some of the previous review advice and it came out excellent: I used fresh squeezed lemon juice (it took about 3-4 lemons), a teaspoon or so of lemon zest, my mixer to beat the egg whites, to which I added 1/4 tsp tartar along with the sugar. The pie was excellent. The only thing was, I wish I had waited until the next day, letting it set better before we cut it. I did wait a few hours, but the meringue was so perfect, I had to try it!! ( As a professional cook I can tell you the acid levels in the lemons are high enough to kill the harmful bacteria in the egg, and I will wash the outside of the egg with a little bleach water as an extra measure because the salmonella lives on the shell, not inside.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is the way my mother made Lemon Icebox Pie, and the way I've made it for many years. Mom put crushed graham crackers on top of hers, but I like the meringue better. Besides the sugar, be sure to put vanilla flavoring and 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar (this makes the meringue wonderful!) in the egg whites while beating them. The lemon juice actually 'cooks' the egg yolks (I use the bottled lemon juice). Instead of using the broiler, I pre-heat the oven to 350-400 degrees and leave the pie in for about 10-15 minutes. I've always doubled the recipe and made two because anybody who's ever tasted them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I love this recipe, I've used it for the last 30 years. You don't have to worry about the eggs being raw. The lemon juice cooks the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe is a good one. When I make it I add about 1-2 tsp of fresh lemon zest. A little lesson for those of you that are not successful with meringues...the egg whites MUST be at room temperature, your bowl and beaters MUST be totally clean and free of any oily residue, and your whites MUST NOT have any yolk in them, otherwise you will not get the volume, etc you need. Beat the whites until they begin to stiffen, then add your sugar and cream of tartar, continue beating until peaks form. And, for those of you who are afraid of the raw eggs...you can bake this pie at 350 for 5 min, plus the lemon juice "cooks" the yolk. There is nothing to fear....make it again and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The first time I made this, it was terrible, but I tweaked it a bit, and found that adding the zest of 2 lemons to the mixture gives it more of a zing without adding tartness. Also, you have to let the pie refrigerate for at least 24 hours before it is fully set. I tried cutting it 3 hours after I made it, and it was still runny... but the next day, it was perfect. If you're not a meringue person (I don't care for it), try topping the pie with fresh, lightly sweetened whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Refreshing, satisfying and deliciously smooth and creamy. Same recipe as the old stanadard my mother made for years with the exception of adding lemon zest - just a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was excellent! I used a homemade graham cracker crust. The filling was very sweet - one piece is definately the limit. I had never made meringue before and it went just perfectly. My only problem with the recipe was that it didn't fill the pie crust as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Note to self -- next time don't try to whip the meringue topping by hand.... use mixer. Yes, I tried it by hand but before I got it to peak my arm cramped up. Stuck it in the over anyway. Surely not as pretty as it was intended to look, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
For those afraid of the raw eggs, just purchase the pasturized whites and yolks and there's no need to worry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States