Lemon Icebox Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I've made lemon icebox pies many times (which are essentially just a lemon version of Key Lime Pie), but never with a meringue topping. I made my own crust with 1-1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs, 5 T. melted butter and 2 T. sugar. To the filling I added 1-1/2 tsp. grated lemon zest for more flavor and tartness and a total of 4 egg yolks, then poured the mixture into the crust and baked at 350* for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, I prepared the now 4-egg white meringue, adding 1/2 tsp. of cream of tartar and a tad more sugar. I topped the hot pie with it, then returned it to the 350* oven until the meringue began to turn golden. It's a beautiufl pie and I found I do like this with the meringue but old habits die hard. I still prefer this topped with fresh sweetened whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Lemon Icebox is one of my favorite pies of all times. This recipe rocks! I modified it slightly by using an animal cracker crust (2 cups animal crackers crushed, 4 T sugar, and 4 T. melted butter). I also added 4 ounces of softened cream cheese to the filling because I didn't want the pie to be too runny. Totally perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
this is the best lemon pie.....the lemon icebox was my dads fav he loved it, i cant make one with out thinking of him....so make 2 one for your self and one to give to some one you love.( i put cool whip on top i dont care for meringue)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaside2008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
amamzing!!It was a huge hit my house..I used fresh lemon from the tree in the back yard adding a the pulp made it perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~nat~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Did not like the runny texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this very recipe EXACTLY as stated for 30+ years, quite probably 270+ pies. It's always come out right and it's always been the first empty pie pan. I've never made it that someone hasn't ask for the recipe. Started making it way before any salmonella scare, just use good hygiene and sanitation practices and you shouldn't have problems either. No one has ever become ill from one of my pies. There are no changes or "tweaks" to make because the pie is perfect, every time. I will mention that nowhere in this recipe did it tell you to beat the egg whites by hand. I guess anything's possible, but I'm sure it was intended that you use a mixer. For those who complain that the meringue "didn't come out", I suggest the basics. Let the egg whites come to near room temperature before beating, beat (WITH MIXER) until whites begin to thicken, then gradually beat it sugar. This will insure that you get your stiffness then the sugar will create the glossiness. I urge everyone to use the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was so fast to make, it made my head spin! I made the whole recipe, but since it's only my hubby and me, I used mini graham cracker crusts and crumbled them at the bottom of two ramekins. I poured in the lemon mix and meringue and tossed what ever was left over. It was great - and I LOVE lemon so it was the perfect tartness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
The only change I made was that I added about 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring to the filling. It came out great and it will definitely be a staple at all our summer get together's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella32484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
A message for the one that rated this as a one star, this pie or any pie as far as that goes that has a meringue topping can be tricky. Tip; do not add the sugur until the egg whites start getting stiff, also you can add cream of tarter to help bring the right consistancy to make the perfect meringue. Another good tip to compliment the tart taste, is to add a sweet taste of crushed Vanilla Waffers with melted butter for your pie crust and place whole cookies around the edge of the pie pan. Sweet southern tradition! This pie is a favorite of my family and friends. It has always been brought to every family gathering and everyone fights for that last piece. Give it a try again without the presure of guest and see how much better it can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I love this recipe. The flavor of the filling is really really lemon-y. I can eat the whole pie by myself. I've made this recipe three times and my one complaint is that the filling just never firmed up. It was *more* firm after a few days in the fridge, but it was still pretty runny. It isn't a pie I would take to a dinner or potluck because it's so difficult to cut and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States