Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This stuff is really good!!! I made it and even though it took a bit of time since I don't have a ice cream machine, it was worth it!!! I love the taste, it's like frozen lemonade with an ice creamy taste to it! I couldn't stop my mother from eating it, very good! Also I added a bit of lime since I didn't have enough lemons, a very nice kick with the zest! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josee RC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This turned out SO good and I won first prize in our family's freeze off with it. I left out the zest, just used lemon juice from the bottle even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I made this last night and my family loved it! Make sure you mince the lemon zest as teeny as you can. I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increased the lemon juice by quite a bit as we like things very tart. I would suggest adding the lemon juice a tablespoon at a time until you have the tartness you like. (As the recipe is written, I think the lemon ice would be extremely sweet.) Once processed, make sure you let the lemon ice age in the freezer in a tupperware container until it is a nice scoopable texture. (My kids ate some straight out of the ice cream maker and loved it soft as well.) Very nice and refreshing for a warm Southern California evening. You should try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Also very good with meyer lemons...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
My fiance loves lemon sorbet, but I prefer the texture of ice cream, so I thought this recipe would be the perfect compromise. It was incredibly easy to make (the hardest bit was zesting the lemons) and I used whole milk to get a nice creaminess. I just poured everything into my ice cream maker after giving it a good whisking. The lemon ice turned out beautifully--creamy but not heavy & not sickly sweet. I served it with fairings (but I imagine it would be delicious with any spicy, gingery cookies) and it made a very tasty & refreshing end to a summer barbecue. I'll definitely be making this again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Aside from the perpetual, "must eat it right away" problem all homemade icecreams seem to have, this one is tasty and very enjoyable. I reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups and put in a BIT less milk. (2% was used.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Having read other reviews before making this, I followed their advice and cut back on the sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 but it was still too sweet. I wish I had also increased the lemon as some had suggested, that may have cut the sweetness a bit more and it could have been a little more lemony. Still, it was good and easy to make (I used the lemon peel in the food processor trick that one reviewer suggested which worked great!). A good summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
So easy! And so good. You only need a little to make a sweet yet refreshing treat. I'be had nothing but compliments on this. I've made it without the lemon zest, and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
so simple, cool and refreshing.. a cross between sherbert and Italian ice. Nice and refreshing for the summer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is delicious! I have made it 2x this week alone! I have a 1 1/2 qt. sorbet maker and cut the recipe down to fit it. 3 cups milk, 1 1/2 cup sugar, and same amount lemons. I plan on trying to make orange next. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States