Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is pretty good! Nice and refreshing! I did take other people's advice and used less sugar. I used a half cup less, I really could have cut back even more. I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used an ice cream maker for 40 minutes. It never got as firm as ice cream, but it held enough air that it never became a frozen rock either. It tasted more like sherbet than it did the Italian lemon ice I was looking for. When I make this recipe again I'll likely use a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solside

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ketchum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was ok. It took forever to freeze and it turned out wayyyy too sweet but the texture was nice and it tasted pretty good (wayyyy too sweet!) I loved the bits of frozen lemon zest. I found it to be really milky which is usually a good thing but with lemon..not. Next time I will look for a recipe for Lemon Ice without the milk...I was trying for something like Italian Ice. The recipe was great but is just not what I was hoping for. If you like Lemon Milk this is the recipe for youl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
hmm - yummy - and only 3 ingredients - so easy to make -- next time i'll try it with orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Delicious with Meyer lemons. For the person who wanted to know how to prevent clotting, whisk the sugar and lemon together until smooth. Then slowly drizzle in milk a little at a time, while whisking quickly. Keep whisking and adding milk in a little at a time until it's all gone. I also second the person who cut the milk down to 3 cups since my ice cream machine is a 1.5 qt. I make lots of ice cream, and this recipe's a keeper! (It's also lower fat than my other ones...but now I wonder how this would taste with half cream and half milk...) So I made this a second time wth smaller, less ripe meyer lemons (6 total), 1.5 cups of sugar, and 2.25 cups of milk - still delicious and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very refreshing summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very easy to make and is so good to eat. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is so refreshing. I will use more lemon and a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaiscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Very tasty! I halved the recipe and poured it into ice pop molds. The pops turned out to be a little soft...but still very delicious. Here's a few tricks I used to make this recipe really easy. First, cut your lemons in half and juice them...THEN you can zest them very easily by tucking your fingers inside the lemon for protection. Second, put your sugar and lemon zest in the food processor and process until fine. Third...go ahead and add the milk and process until well blended. I didn't cut back the sugar, but I did add extra lemon and lemon zest to taste. Can't wait to try it again by freezing in a pan. Very yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
The milk curdled when I added it to the lemon juice/sugar mix...what did I do wrong? Help, I really want to try it! RE-REVIEW I'm so glad I tried it again! I did as suggested above, and used the whisk beaters on my handheld electric mixer to first whisk the lemon juice and sugar together then while whisking, I slowly drizzled in the milk. I used 4 cups of skim and 1 cup of 2% since I have a 4 qt. ice cream maker, and others said it was overly sweet with just 4 cups of milk. It turned out wonderfully, not quite as creamy as a sherbet, but I would think if you used whole milk or some half & half, it would be richer, but I liked it as is. I just wish the recipe listed a specific amount of lemon juice so I can get consistent results, as lemons can vary in their juiciness. I actually used four smaller lemons and zested them all. I bet it would be good with lime and orange, even raspberries as well and you could make your own rainbow ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States