Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Way to much sugar and not enough lemon. I added extra lemon and still thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Wonderfully refreshing! The one problem I had with this recipe was that it never froze completely in my Kitchenaid ice cream attachment. I ended up having to put the very soft mixture into the freezer where it hardened completely. I would have preferred a softer consistency. I believe this may be due to the fact that the recipe does not call for chilling the mixture before placing it into the ice cream freezer. This mixture was just cool to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
mmmmmm so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this last night and it came out great. I don't have a food processor, but I tried the trick of peeling the lemon thinly with a paring knife, putting the strips in the blender with the sugar. As you can imagine, that wasn't working very well (I'm a new cook!), but I then added the lemon juice and blended again and that did the trick...nice, fine lemon zest in the the lemon/sugar mixture. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, and upped to juice by 1/2 cup, and whisked the milk in slowly as mentioned by others. Came out perfect! Also, if you won't be able to serve it within a few hours while it's nice and scoopable, you can use the same recipe for ice pops since it will harden quite a bit but still taste very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I liked it... so did the kids. Husband thought a bit sweet. Super simple recipe. I had no problem with curdling... adding the milk while the mixer mixed the lemon and sugar worked well. I would go with a bit more lemon personally or maybe add some orange zest/juice for something different, but the recipe as is is a great, simple, desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was really great. It is so nice to not have to have an ice cream maker in order to make a good ice cream. My children loved it and now want me to make orange and then lime. I will be making this for many years to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have made this several times, both with and without the lemon zest. It's great both ways, and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great recipe! Following the advice of others I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 c., (actually 1 c. sugar and 1/2 c. of Splenda), and increased the lemon juice to 3/4 c. of Meyer lemon juice. For those who would like to know how much juice one lemon has, I measured 1/4 c. from a medium sized lemon. It's only a general guideline. I'm sure it could vary depending on ripeness, etc. My result was excellent. Just the right amount of sweetness and tanginess, and I love that I don't have to feel guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was terrific. Very easy to make.It was too sweet for my taste. Had to add milk but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I read the reviews and ended up creating my own recipe, which is awaiting review/acceptance here. I had to halve the recipe because of the capacity of my ice cream machine, but I kept the full amount of lemon juice, and zested both lemons. I used a combination of milk and heavy cream and sugar and honey. It was really good. This recipe was a good starting point, but I'm sure if I'd followed it I would have had a very sweet frozen confection with no tanginess at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States