Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Here's a tip for zesting a lemon: Use a vegetable peeler to remove the paper thin layer of lemon peel. Put these strips of lemon peel in a food processor along with the sugar from the recipe. Pulse the food processor until the lemon peel is in bits. Works great and is extremely quick. No more grated knuckles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I SOOO love lemons, and this is perfect for a hot Texas summer! Just beware, mine took a little longer than the 2 hours noted to freeze (using the pan-in-the-freezer method), and you should plan to serve it all the day you make it - it became VERY firm by the next day. I must say though - my favorite part of this recipe was the reviewer tip to peel the lemon with a vegetable peeler and then whirl the shavings with the sugar in a food processor. Genius!! My knuckles thank you. (Now I can make Lemon Pudding Cake twice a week instead of once... :) ) NOTE: The name is a little misleading; it's more like lemon ice cream rather than an ice or sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
The milk curdled when I added it to the lemon juice/sugar mix...what did I do wrong? Help, I really want to try it! RE-REVIEW I'm so glad I tried it again! I did as suggested above, and used the whisk beaters on my handheld electric mixer to first whisk the lemon juice and sugar together then while whisking, I slowly drizzled in the milk. I used 4 cups of skim and 1 cup of 2% since I have a 4 qt. ice cream maker, and others said it was overly sweet with just 4 cups of milk. It turned out wonderfully, not quite as creamy as a sherbet, but I would think if you used whole milk or some half & half, it would be richer, but I liked it as is. I just wish the recipe listed a specific amount of lemon juice so I can get consistent results, as lemons can vary in their juiciness. I actually used four smaller lemons and zested them all. I bet it would be good with lime and orange, even raspberries as well and you could make your own rainbow ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Delicious with Meyer lemons. For the person who wanted to know how to prevent clotting, whisk the sugar and lemon together until smooth. Then slowly drizzle in milk a little at a time, while whisking quickly. Keep whisking and adding milk in a little at a time until it's all gone. I also second the person who cut the milk down to 3 cups since my ice cream machine is a 1.5 qt. I make lots of ice cream, and this recipe's a keeper! (It's also lower fat than my other ones...but now I wonder how this would taste with half cream and half milk...) So I made this a second time wth smaller, less ripe meyer lemons (6 total), 1.5 cups of sugar, and 2.25 cups of milk - still delicious and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is a wonderfully refreshing dessert. Since my family likes tart lemony desserts, I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and in addition to the two lemons, I added 3/4 cup of bottled lemon juice. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I made this last night and my family loved it! Make sure you mince the lemon zest as teeny as you can. I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increased the lemon juice by quite a bit as we like things very tart. I would suggest adding the lemon juice a tablespoon at a time until you have the tartness you like. (As the recipe is written, I think the lemon ice would be extremely sweet.) Once processed, make sure you let the lemon ice age in the freezer in a tupperware container until it is a nice scoopable texture. (My kids ate some straight out of the ice cream maker and loved it soft as well.) Very nice and refreshing for a warm Southern California evening. You should try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Great recipe! Following the advice of others I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 c., (actually 1 c. sugar and 1/2 c. of Splenda), and increased the lemon juice to 3/4 c. of Meyer lemon juice. For those who would like to know how much juice one lemon has, I measured 1/4 c. from a medium sized lemon. It's only a general guideline. I'm sure it could vary depending on ripeness, etc. My result was excellent. Just the right amount of sweetness and tanginess, and I love that I don't have to feel guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
this is a great recipe, i made it in my icecream maker and it came out great.Although at first i put too much mixture into the icecream maker so it didn't freeze and i had to pour half of the mixture out. it is a great recipe one of the best i've made so far. i reduced the sugar content to 1 1/2 cups like other paople said and it turned out wonderful! i used 1 lemon 1 orange and 1 lime and used skimmed milk for a very low fat alternative to ice cream. it goes great if you put it in a waffle cone. i left half of the mixture to make a couple days later and this batch was the best because i had kept it in the fridge which was very cold so it speeded up the freezing process and could be eaten straight out of the ice cream maker! it does go rock solid if left in the freezer so you need to thaw it for a bit so it's not as hard. i might make this again. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is so refreshing. I will use more lemon and a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaiscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Having read other reviews before making this, I followed their advice and cut back on the sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups instead of 2 but it was still too sweet. I wish I had also increased the lemon as some had suggested, that may have cut the sweetness a bit more and it could have been a little more lemony. Still, it was good and easy to make (I used the lemon peel in the food processor trick that one reviewer suggested which worked great!). A good summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States