Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
this is a great recipe. it was so simple to make, but yet it tasted awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
This is a great recipe for the ice cream lover who happens to be on a diet. The only thing that keeps this recipe from getting 5 stars is that I had to zest a lemon. It's extremely easy and tastes wonderful. My only complaint about this recipe is that I think it's a bit overly sweet. I just added a bit more milk and lemon to cut the sweetness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLCHILD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
really easy to make (if you have a lemon zester), and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Here's a tip for zesting a lemon: Use a vegetable peeler to remove the paper thin layer of lemon peel. Put these strips of lemon peel in a food processor along with the sugar from the recipe. Pulse the food processor until the lemon peel is in bits. Works great and is extremely quick. No more grated knuckles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I love this recipe! It has all the taste of ice cream without the fat (I used 1% milk). Also, try making it with red grapefruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Very refreshing. Seeing other reviews before making, I used less sugar than suggested. I was glad i did, even with less sugar it was a little too sweet. I served mine with fresh raspberries, a lovely light dessert to round off a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I SOOO love lemons, and this is perfect for a hot Texas summer! Just beware, mine took a little longer than the 2 hours noted to freeze (using the pan-in-the-freezer method), and you should plan to serve it all the day you make it - it became VERY firm by the next day. I must say though - my favorite part of this recipe was the reviewer tip to peel the lemon with a vegetable peeler and then whirl the shavings with the sugar in a food processor. Genius!! My knuckles thank you. (Now I can make Lemon Pudding Cake twice a week instead of once... :) ) NOTE: The name is a little misleading; it's more like lemon ice cream rather than an ice or sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This was okay. Very sweet...almost too sweet. Also used three lemons instead of two. Had the consistencey of frozen milk, too icy. But its cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is a wonderfully refreshing dessert. Since my family likes tart lemony desserts, I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and in addition to the two lemons, I added 3/4 cup of bottled lemon juice. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is a great, incredibly easy recipe! My husband and I have also substituted limes, oranges, raspberries or even strawberries in place of the lemons. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States