Lemon Ice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was so refreshing, i loved it, good simple instuctions and very easy to make with an ice-cream machine, i have just bought one so i am making lots of ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This recipe was great and refreshing! but instead of using 2 lemons, I only juiced and zested one. Then I cut up 5 strawberries and put them in the blender, along with some bottled lemon juice. I added that to the sugar, milk, and lemon mixture. I don't have a ice cream maker, so I used the method of checking every hour and giving it a good stir. It came out deliciously sweet, like strawberry lemonade sorbet! Can't wait to try other fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I have to admit that I just used bottled lemon juice, and I don't think I'd make it that way again. This was certainly different than anything else I've ever had, and _very_ sweet! Also, it took 5 hours in the freezer (stirred every hour or so) before it was even remotely scoopable, and even then it was mushy and melted almost immediately. If I try this again, I'll use more lemon, less sugar, and start it in the morning to freeze all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
this is a great recipe, i made it in my icecream maker and it came out great.Although at first i put too much mixture into the icecream maker so it didn't freeze and i had to pour half of the mixture out. it is a great recipe one of the best i've made so far. i reduced the sugar content to 1 1/2 cups like other paople said and it turned out wonderful! i used 1 lemon 1 orange and 1 lime and used skimmed milk for a very low fat alternative to ice cream. it goes great if you put it in a waffle cone. i left half of the mixture to make a couple days later and this batch was the best because i had kept it in the fridge which was very cold so it speeded up the freezing process and could be eaten straight out of the ice cream maker! it does go rock solid if left in the freezer so you need to thaw it for a bit so it's not as hard. i might make this again. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
One of my favourite aspects of this recipe is how it can be successfully still-frozen. Remember that ALL ice creams and sorbets are going to be sweeter before they are frozen-- the ice crystals will compensate for this--so be careful when making adjustments. The best way to do it is to of course halve the recipe and finish it and then make any adjustments to a full-sized recipe. For those of you concerned about sugar, it would be worth trying this recipe with sucralose (Splenda) to see if the texture and taste are comparable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Tasted good, but not what I was looking for. Be careful when tinkering with the amounts of sugar used. The less sugar you use the more solid the resulting lemon ice will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This is pretty good, but it's extremely sweet. I made the recipe as written and tasted the mix before I froze it. I ended up adding a lot more lemon juice to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Wow!! It's my new favorite treat! So good! I love Luigi's italian ice but would take this recipe over it anyday. Very easy, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This was soooo easy and sooooo good! Very refreshing too I'm going to try and find a way to reduce the caloric count on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I like this recipe a lot and have made it a number of times. Very refreshing and I love the texture of the lemon zest in it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of lemon juice - to three lemons - and processed the zest and sugar together. I also scalded the milk beforehand to ensure a creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States