Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This cake is great for potluck dinners. Anyone who likes lemon will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This cake very easy to make. I took it to my family's Easter dinner and everyone loved it! I thought it was very good, but had an obvious "not from scratch" taste. I only used about half of the frosting, which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
The filling in this cake is very good. I used real whipped cream that I did not add sugar to and folded in only 1/2 cup of the filling. I did add lemoncillo to the filling but the filling is also good without it. The downfall is the cake. You can tell it is a mix. Next time I would make a scratch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I needed to make this for a summer pot luck dinner. So, I baked the cake in a jelly roll pan. I also used a small size of the lemon jello pudding mix. I put 1/2 of the pudding mix in the cake batter and used the other 1/2 in the filling. I also used the zest of 2 lemons in the filling. As the cake came out of the oven I poked wholes in the cake and then smoothed 1/2 the filling over the cake. After the cake had cooled I put the filling with the whipped topping folded in on top. I sprinkled the topping with a little yellow crystal-sugar. Everyone loved it. The smaller sizes of cake were perfect for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libby
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I mixed the whole lemon juice mixture with the whipped topping, as a few other reviewers had suggested. I also mixed in some finely grated fresh lemon zest in both the cake and the frosting. It turned out well but the cake wasn't quite lemon-y enough to stand up to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meredith
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
A fantastic cake. We used 9-in. pans -- cutting them apart with dental floss is very easy. We reserved 1 cup lemon/milk mixture for topping, but it was way too much. Should have used most of the mixture for the layers. BE SURE to add more lemon juice to the mixture that will be used in the middle. I will definitely be making this again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Without a doubt, it is the lovely texture of the filling and icing that makes this cake hard to resist! I used the regular filling inside and the whipped cream version on the outside...there was a ton of icing, so next time I will probably use more lemon filling before mixing in the remainder with the whipped cream. Such a lovely cake, I can't wait to serve it up to the in-laws!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
terrifically moist and delicious - a great summer time treat! my family loved it and i'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I loved this cake!!!! I made this cake and a chocolate cake for a birthday and there was not a crumb left of this cake. The only thing that I did different was I added a box of lemon jello to the cake mix to give it a tarter flavor. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This cake was so light an yummie! I mixed the frosting and applied it in every layer as suggested by some of the reviews. As I tasted the frosting the evening before it was to be served I did not like it at all, but the next day after it was in the fridge, the flavor lightened up and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States