Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was tasty and delish. The only thing I will change next time is to spread just an ultra thin layer of the condensed milk/lemon juice mix between layers and top each layer with the frosting mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Simple to make and tasty. Be sure to save enough of the condensed milk/lemon juice mix to fold into the frosting. Just a little less lemony than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Pretty good... definitely better the second day. I did not follow the instructions to make it a day ahead, and I wish I had. The leftovers were much better the day after I served it to guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My family always asks for this cake during the spring and summer months. It is so lemony and good it just gets eaten right up. The cake layers are a bit of a challenge for me to separate but with practice I got better. Even when I was at my worst separating the cake layers it still turned out great. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This cake was so delicious! I will definitely make it again. Next time, I'm going to try making as a sheet cake by poking holes in the warm cake and pouring the lemon mixture over it. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I got rave reviews on this cake. For the icing I added 1/2 a packet of instant lemon pudding mix and in between the layers I added crushed raspberry (along with the icing), which really helped to mellow out the lemon flavor, otherwise I think there might have been too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This cake is DELICIOUS!! I would make some modifications to the recipe though. I added fresh lemon zest to the cake mix and to the sweetened condensed milk mixture, I really think this helped add extra lemon flavor. The refrigeration over night definitely helped the flavors develop and the frosting tasted much more "lemony" when I served the cake. I accidently only got an 8 oz container of whipped topping but the recipe still made way too much frosting as others have said. Next time I'm going to use 3/4 of the sweetened condensed milk/lemon juice mixture between the layers and just mix 1/4 with a smaller amount of whipped topping - that way the icing isn't so sweet. I did like how the mixture between the layers soaked in a little and added extra moistness to the cake. I wouldn't have known this was a boxed mix if I didn't make it myself! Overall it's VERY good and I will definitely make it again but I'm going to play around with the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great Cake...I also added the whipped cream to the lemon pudding mixture and it turned out great...there is a lot of frosting, so do put plenty on each layer. Great compliments on the frosting. I also let it sit in the fridge overnight..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the easiest & tastiest cake I've ever made. I made it twice for to events & I've never received so many fanastic compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
i made this a little different i only made half the lemon sweetened mil mixture .i then poked holes in the warm ake and pourded it over like you would a better than se cake. then frosted with cool whip every one loved it and it made the cake so moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States