Lemon Ice-Box Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I make this ALL the time BUT I now make it in cupcake form. I make lemon cupcakes as directed just like the cake. When they are cooled, I inject the lemon juice/eagle brand mixture into the cupcake. I then ice the cupcakes as you would the actual cake. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe on the lemon cake box for a pound cake which called for adding 1 small box of lemon pudding. Also, made as a single layer cake using a rectangle pan. This is very refreshing and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this cake for my daughters baby shower it was a summer party and everyone wanted to know what bakery this wonderful cake came from, It was easy and fast no fuss cake it was so refreshing needless to say their were no left overs although everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lory
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was the very first non-chocolate cake I baked for my family and it was hit! It's quite addicting. A taste of summer on a winter evening! I topped it with toasted coconut and toffee which added texture to it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I rated it 4 stars because 12 oz of whipped cream is way too much. I think it could have been made with 8 oz and been great. Then again, I'm not a big fan of icing in general, but it is necessary for this cake. I made it exactly according to directions and everyone loved it. I left it in the frig for two full days after making it and it was moist and lemony and hit the spot on a warm day in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIE20
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this for my small wedding party. Everyone loved it. I love it because I could make it a full day ahead and take it to our destination. I used a yellow box cake and added a half box of lemon pudding to the cake. The other half box I put into the frosting that used the whipped topping. It looked beautiful. It reminded me of an old fashioned cake a grandmother would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I am not normally a cake person, but love this recipe. I do add a box of lemon pudding to the cake mix and mix the cool whip into the whole lemon mixture. I have taken this several places and everyone always loves it and raves about it. The topping is fantastic and good enough to eat by itself with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used a white cake mix and substituted half the water for lemon juice. I had half a can of Eagle Brand which I beat until fluffy with 1 tbsp of lemon juice. I split my 9x13 cake into 2 layers, spread a layer of the lemon filling and topped it with sliced strawberries. I whipped 2 cups of whipping cream with 2 envelopes of Whipit and 2 tsps of vanilla sugar, added in the remaining lemon filling and whipped until combined, spread over the top and sides of the cake and decorated the top with sliced strawberries. Very nice taste, I couldn't imagine using 2 cans of Eagle Brand though, it would be too sweet and soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I tend to shy away from layer cakes. The whole layering process scares me. The layers being uneven, sliding off of each other, etc. But this cake went together smoothly and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This cake is so easy to make and absolutely delicious! I am not a baker and this cake turned out great. In the summer like to top it with fresh raspberries- a great compliment to the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States