Lemon Honey Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Quikkate
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
It is wonderful ! I checked out a couple of other reviews before I made them. And altered my recipe slightly as well. *Less nutmeg (not a fan) * Added a tbsp of flour *Added 3 or 4 raspberries to each tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wow. Absolutely Amazing. I followed Mollie Mary Frances' idea of using philo dough instead of using tart shells. I also used fresh lime juice and fresh lime zest instead of lemon, because i'm more of a fan of limes than lemons. I baked them until i could smell them. perfectly done. They are SOOOO GOOD!!! I could eat these all day. Thanks so much for a wonderfuly refreshing change of the normal butter tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Pattison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deadwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really like how these turned out. I did make one change by using filo cups instead of normal tarts. I just couldn't find tart shells at my grocery store. The filling is excellent. It was sweeter than I expected and I might add extra lemon next time. I really love sour lemons though, so if I make these for a party I'll keep the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe, the only thing is, i added raspberries on top for an extra kick and it made waaayy more filling than tarts, but I was more than happy to get more tarts for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was great! I made them for a dessert for my family and everyone loved them! They were all gone in no time! The spices made the lemon and honey together tasted alot like apple tarts but still i think this is a great recipe for someone to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitebonappetite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harriston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was intriguing. I read the two reviews. I took the advice of the first one and omitted the lemon juice and used soy milk instead. I omitted the cinnamon and doubled the nutmeg. I cut the butter back to 1/4 cup. Then I really changed the recipe by adding 1 cup of raisins. They turned out the best butter tarts I have ever eaten. The success started from a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was ok, but nothing really special. It looks like a butter tart, but is tart and sweet at the same time. The taste of honey was overpowering, and the spices tasted strange with the lemon. Some liked it, but most didn't. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I really like the fact that these don't try to boil over in the oven. The tart lemon contrasts nicely with the honey and brown sugar. Only one complaint. Because the lemon stops these from tasting really sweet, I tend to eat too many. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States