Lemon Green Beans with Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I wasn't thrilled with this. Needs seasoning beyond the lemon juice which was a little overkill to me in the first place. And I could do without the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
"Best green beans Ive ever had," says Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Delicious! Used salted butter instead of unsalted and then didn't add any salt. The lemon flavor of these is strong and refreshing. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Well, I can say this was very different for me and my family. I made to a T. It had a nice lemon taste to it. It's light and a "summer" dish for sure. It wasn't a WOW dish for my family. But it wasn't bad either. It was ok though for us. One child doesn't like green beans, so he nibble on one piece and said, nope not for him. But my other children ate the beans and said it was good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
wow not my thing but if you like lemon you may like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Tried these for Thanksgiving. Favorable reviews all around except use caution with the lemon. I only used 1/2 the lemon and zest for a pound of beans and it was more than enough. Also subbed pecans since that's what we used in the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Delicious! I even forgot to add the lemon zest, which I think would only improve this recipe even more. The walnuts add a delicious crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Skipped the walnuts altogether (not a fan). This definitely perks up boring green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
went by the directions and it was pretty boring, even after adding honey and brown sugar to the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These are pretty good. I had a big lemon, so I only used the zest and juice of 1/2 of it. It was still a little too tart for my taste. Maybe adding some sugar would help. My favorite part was definitely the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States