Lemon Grass and Chicken Summer Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were well worth the effort. I added extra basil, cilantro, lemongrass, and crushed red chili. I mixed everything together and let it sit in the refrigerator for a few hours to let the flavors blend. I didn't have any mint and I could tell that was missing. Will definitely make these again and will be sure to have mint next time. I added a little carrot too for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I loved this. It's very similar to a deli product I order at a local asian market. Tasty & worth the little extra effort it takes to make my own! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a summer roll and they turned out wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought these were easy to make and I didn't have any problems with the rice paper wrappers. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Clever to mix the greens & dipping sauce in with the chicken. Very enjoyable alternative to the shrimp Vietnamese fresh rolls we like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Brought these to a summer afternoon baby shower, and everyone loved them! They're pretty, light, healthy and fresh-tasting. (I omitted the peanuts, but provided peanut sauce for dipping, as well as Thai sweet chili sauce.) I used Mediterranean basil because I didn't have Thai basil, but everything else was as written, and they were delicious! Made the filling the night before, and put them together in the morning. Once I rolled them up, I covered the platter they were in with damp paper towel, and then plastic wrap, for transport to the party. They sat in the fridge like that until I sliced them in half for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
didn't use the mint because i didn't have any but what a great recipe! i left out the chicken on mine (i don't eat meat) but i put it in my husbands and he loved it too! thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These were a BIG hit! I used some rotisserie chicken I had left over and since I don't care for cucumber I left those out, but I'm sure the small amount wouldn't detract from the deliciousness of this fabulous creation! The flavors were bright, the filling was substantial enough to make a portable meal (especially since the "dipping sauce" is already in the roll), and working with rice wrappers isn't difficult; just a bit time consuming (and worth the effort!). I took them to my brother's 50th b'day party and everyone snarfed them down in record time! I am now printing out the recipe to send to an aunt - she raved the loudest and requested it. These will also be going in my lunches, since they're perfect for my tiffin tin and bentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as is, except for substituting Thai chili peppers for the jalapenos (they're hotter, so use less of them). I brought them to a potluck of 19 women-only 1 person didn't like them. Takes time to make, but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made these to take to work. Everyone loved them! I saved some to keep at home and my husband ate every last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These are incredible. Simply incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Lemon Garlic Chicken

A simple and delicious chicken with lemon and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States