Lemon Grass and Chicken Summer Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were well worth the effort. I added extra basil, cilantro, lemongrass, and crushed red chili. I mixed everything together and let it sit in the refrigerator for a few hours to let the flavors blend. I didn't have any mint and I could tell that was missing. Will definitely make these again and will be sure to have mint next time. I added a little carrot too for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I loved this. It's very similar to a deli product I order at a local asian market. Tasty & worth the little extra effort it takes to make my own! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a summer roll and they turned out wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought these were easy to make and I didn't have any problems with the rice paper wrappers. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These are great! I followed the recipe the first time (which is what my rating is based on) and the next few times I made some adjustments for personal taste. The cucumber is great if you eat it right away. If you're making it ahead, leave the cucumber out until ready to serve or the cucumber gets soggy. I do the same with the peanuts. The mint was good, but now I leave it out because of personal taste. I also make it into a lettuce wrap if rice paper wrappers aren't handy. Finally, and food purists will think this is terrible, but I even use dried basil and dried cilantro. In the interest of economics, I never use all of the fresh basil and cilantro when I buy it, so it's just easier to keep dried on hand. I didn't tell guests I used dried and it still got rave reviews. If using dried, just don't forget to use half the amount of fresh called for. Yum and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Brought these to a summer afternoon baby shower, and everyone loved them! They're pretty, light, healthy and fresh-tasting. (I omitted the peanuts, but provided peanut sauce for dipping, as well as Thai sweet chili sauce.) I used Mediterranean basil because I didn't have Thai basil, but everything else was as written, and they were delicious! Made the filling the night before, and put them together in the morning. Once I rolled them up, I covered the platter they were in with damp paper towel, and then plastic wrap, for transport to the party. They sat in the fridge like that until I sliced them in half for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
didn't use the mint because i didn't have any but what a great recipe! i left out the chicken on mine (i don't eat meat) but i put it in my husbands and he loved it too! thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Clever to mix the greens & dipping sauce in with the chicken. Very enjoyable alternative to the shrimp Vietnamese fresh rolls we like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as is, except for substituting Thai chili peppers for the jalapenos (they're hotter, so use less of them). I brought them to a potluck of 19 women-only 1 person didn't like them. Takes time to make, but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These tasted really delicious, however I think there is an art to assembling them! Takes practice! Maybe next time I might add some vermicelli noodles. Served with chilli and peanut dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These were a BIG hit! I used some rotisserie chicken I had left over and since I don't care for cucumber I left those out, but I'm sure the small amount wouldn't detract from the deliciousness of this fabulous creation! The flavors were bright, the filling was substantial enough to make a portable meal (especially since the "dipping sauce" is already in the roll), and working with rice wrappers isn't difficult; just a bit time consuming (and worth the effort!). I took them to my brother's 50th b'day party and everyone snarfed them down in record time! I am now printing out the recipe to send to an aunt - she raved the loudest and requested it. These will also be going in my lunches, since they're perfect for my tiffin tin and bentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States