Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
It was a great consistency. I actually did use cake flour, but I didn't make it lemon, I made it "berry", by replacing the lemon with berry jam and then just a tsp of lemon juice. And then I used it with "Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake" on this site, as the yellow cake, cooked it all in an Angel Food Cake Pan and then inverted it. Sides a bit messy, but it was ok for that type of cake. Also, the top seemed to get really brown while baking (but still swishy), so I turned heat down to 300 and cooked a little longer. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I was looking for a refreshing cake to serve for a dinner party, I wanted something light and creamy as we were serving a leg of lamb and lamb is very rich. This was the best cake to fit the bill everyone at the dinner party commented on what a light and refreshing flavor it had and that the lemon wasn't over powering it complemented the whole dinner. I followed the review from S.MILLER and I will serve this many times over. Thank you for an excellant cake recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I put in about two or three times the amount of lemon juice and I still couldn't taste it when I tried some. Also, no need for cake flour or parchment paper (if you spray the pan down well with no stick spray, it'll be just fine). I am kinda disappointed since I've been trying to find a good lemon or lemon poppyseed recipe with a good lemon flavor. The only thing that affected my decision was the lemon flavor. If you aren't a big fan of lemon and are looking for a sweet cake with a very light lemon flavor, this is the cake for you! I will frost one of the cakes tomorrow with lemon frosting - 1 c powdered sugar, 1 tsp milk, 1 tsp vanilla, 1-2 T butter, melted, lemon juice to taste, mix all ingredients until slightly runny - and it should be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made this cake with Lemon Frosting tonight for dinner. It was fabulous. I definitely will be making this one all summer. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotaturtle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This cake was amazing! I only made one little addition out of personal preference. I cut back slightly on the milk and added fresh squeezed lemon juice (half a lemon). The cake was SUPER moist and had a fantastic lemon taste. And it's actually quite a light tasting cake. I frosted it with lemon cream cheese icing and YUM! Almost as good as lemon meringue pie!......almost....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, if anything, but the cake was pretty dry. I followed the recipe to a T, so it's not because I strayed from the recipe. The lemon cream cheese frosting bumped this up to a 4. But I wouldn't rate the cake alone that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Wonderful cake! I too frosted it with the Lemon Cream Cheese frosting (doubled the recipe) and my family loves it. I put lemon pudding between three 8" round layers. I think I will try making this with orange zest instead of lemon; may be good made with orange, and frosted with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We love this cake! It certainly would be adaptable with any number of filling/frosting combinations. I made it tonight with a lemon curd filling and buttercream frosting (as naples recommended)...I wasn't happy with the lemon curd recipe that I chose, but the cake is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Oh, wow this is awesome good! I see a yellow butter cake recipe with six egg yolks and I'm telling you, I'm right on it! Butter cakes have a tendency to be dry--not this one. Think the best wedding cake you ever had--now think three times as good as that, and that's how I'd describe this cake. Beautiful texture and color, substantial yet delicate crumb. This could easily be adapted to other flavors as well. I made no changes--the recipe stands on its own. I filled it with "Lemon Curd," from this site, and frosted it with my own vanilla buttercream. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a very good cake. It is not very lemony, but light and tasty. I made it exactly as stated, except I greased and floured the two cake pans instead of using parchment paper. They turned out really nice and pretty. In the picture tha cake looks white, but is really a nice pale yellow color. This would be a great cake with vanilla buttercream frosting, or as a homemade white cake. Really good and clean tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States