Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This is the best recipe ever!!!!! I too love lemons and used the zest of two large lemons and the juice of one in the batter and added two teaspoons of vanilla extract. The cake was very moist and light. I also added the zest of one lemon and the juice to my lemon buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
inconsistant results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Not QUITE what I was expecting, still, this cake is yummy and very delicious, light and soft. It was a big hit with my family. I decreased the sugar amount slightly, still turned out very sweet, but not to sweet. Definatly a keeper, thanks for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This would have been 5 stars, but even after doubling the lemon I could still barely taste it. Still a great cake, just a milder lemon flavor than I was hoping for. Definitely sift! I did not get the light and fluffy results others reported because I skipped the sifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good! moist,light,fluffy,yummy i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Baking_Enchantress
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious. I found mine to be slightly like sponge cake in texture. Just slightly. But very delicate and light as many reviewers have stated. I'm a lemon fanatic and I found the lemon flavor not to be very pronounced as I would have like. I added 1.5-2 Tbsp lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon extract but it didn't explode with lemon flavor as I had hoped. Either way it will definitely be a delicious new addition to my repertoire and I will try it again tweaking to get that perfect punch of lemon and probably some other flavorings. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the reviews, I noticed a trend that everyone mentioned it was not very lemony... I added a tablespoon of lemon extract and it was absolutely perfect! I iced it w/ homemade lemon buttercream icing... I made it for a co-workers birthday and everyone loved it! I will definitely add this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Monee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I live in high altitude and used this as a base recipe for a lemon cake. To adjust for the altitude, I added a whole egg in with the egg yolks and used 1 cup of milk with 2 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice. I also substituted all-purpose flour and used 2 1/2 tbsp of zest. The layers baked up evenly and did not fall in the middle. This recipe is great for a moist, sturdy cake with natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
All in all, not a bad cake. I followed the recipe exactly, but it did not have much of a lemon flavour. The texture was not what I was looking for. I was hoping for light and fluffy, but it wasn't quite what I wanted. Tasted pretty good. NOT ultimate. Nothing that people were going crazy over. Just good. Thanks for sharing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious cake. It was surprisingly light and airy...be sure to use ROOM TEMP butter and eggs! Delicious with lemon curd filling and whip cream and strawberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States