Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This cake is pretty good. I used cupcake tins instead and they were done in about 14 minutes. For the icing I made Carol's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious cake. It was surprisingly light and airy...be sure to use ROOM TEMP butter and eggs! Delicious with lemon curd filling and whip cream and strawberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the reviews, I noticed a trend that everyone mentioned it was not very lemony... I added a tablespoon of lemon extract and it was absolutely perfect! I iced it w/ homemade lemon buttercream icing... I made it for a co-workers birthday and everyone loved it! I will definitely add this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Monee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's soft, has a delicate texture, and is really delicious. I used all purpose flour minus 5T, didn't sift anything, and baked the cake in a bundt pan. A light vanilla glaze would be the perfect frosting for this cake, although, it's great plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Oh, wow this is awesome good! I see a yellow butter cake recipe with six egg yolks and I'm telling you, I'm right on it! Butter cakes have a tendency to be dry--not this one. Think the best wedding cake you ever had--now think three times as good as that, and that's how I'd describe this cake. Beautiful texture and color, substantial yet delicate crumb. This could easily be adapted to other flavors as well. I made no changes--the recipe stands on its own. I filled it with "Lemon Curd," from this site, and frosted it with my own vanilla buttercream. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We love this cake! It certainly would be adaptable with any number of filling/frosting combinations. I made it tonight with a lemon curd filling and buttercream frosting (as naples recommended)...I wasn't happy with the lemon curd recipe that I chose, but the cake is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Wonderful cake! I too frosted it with the Lemon Cream Cheese frosting (doubled the recipe) and my family loves it. I put lemon pudding between three 8" round layers. I think I will try making this with orange zest instead of lemon; may be good made with orange, and frosted with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I was looking for a refreshing cake to serve for a dinner party, I wanted something light and creamy as we were serving a leg of lamb and lamb is very rich. This was the best cake to fit the bill everyone at the dinner party commented on what a light and refreshing flavor it had and that the lemon wasn't over powering it complemented the whole dinner. I followed the review from S.MILLER and I will serve this many times over. Thank you for an excellant cake recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
It was a great consistency. I actually did use cake flour, but I didn't make it lemon, I made it "berry", by replacing the lemon with berry jam and then just a tsp of lemon juice. And then I used it with "Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake" on this site, as the yellow cake, cooked it all in an Angel Food Cake Pan and then inverted it. Sides a bit messy, but it was ok for that type of cake. Also, the top seemed to get really brown while baking (but still swishy), so I turned heat down to 300 and cooked a little longer. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesternStars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking_Enchantress
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious. I found mine to be slightly like sponge cake in texture. Just slightly. But very delicate and light as many reviewers have stated. I'm a lemon fanatic and I found the lemon flavor not to be very pronounced as I would have like. I added 1.5-2 Tbsp lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon extract but it didn't explode with lemon flavor as I had hoped. Either way it will definitely be a delicious new addition to my repertoire and I will try it again tweaking to get that perfect punch of lemon and probably some other flavorings. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States