Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This cake is pretty good. I used cupcake tins instead and they were done in about 14 minutes. For the icing I made Carol's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's soft, has a delicate texture, and is really delicious. I used all purpose flour minus 5T, didn't sift anything, and baked the cake in a bundt pan. A light vanilla glaze would be the perfect frosting for this cake, although, it's great plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour because I didn't have it on hand. The cake was moist and flavorful. I filled and topped with the Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a very good cake. It is not very lemony, but light and tasty. I made it exactly as stated, except I greased and floured the two cake pans instead of using parchment paper. They turned out really nice and pretty. In the picture tha cake looks white, but is really a nice pale yellow color. This would be a great cake with vanilla buttercream frosting, or as a homemade white cake. Really good and clean tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Oh, wow this is awesome good! I see a yellow butter cake recipe with six egg yolks and I'm telling you, I'm right on it! Butter cakes have a tendency to be dry--not this one. Think the best wedding cake you ever had--now think three times as good as that, and that's how I'd describe this cake. Beautiful texture and color, substantial yet delicate crumb. This could easily be adapted to other flavors as well. I made no changes--the recipe stands on its own. I filled it with "Lemon Curd," from this site, and frosted it with my own vanilla buttercream. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We love this cake! It certainly would be adaptable with any number of filling/frosting combinations. I made it tonight with a lemon curd filling and buttercream frosting (as naples recommended)...I wasn't happy with the lemon curd recipe that I chose, but the cake is terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Wonderful cake! I too frosted it with the Lemon Cream Cheese frosting (doubled the recipe) and my family loves it. I put lemon pudding between three 8" round layers. I think I will try making this with orange zest instead of lemon; may be good made with orange, and frosted with orange flavored cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, if anything, but the cake was pretty dry. I followed the recipe to a T, so it's not because I strayed from the recipe. The lemon cream cheese frosting bumped this up to a 4. But I wouldn't rate the cake alone that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This cake was amazing! I only made one little addition out of personal preference. I cut back slightly on the milk and added fresh squeezed lemon juice (half a lemon). The cake was SUPER moist and had a fantastic lemon taste. And it's actually quite a light tasting cake. I frosted it with lemon cream cheese icing and YUM! Almost as good as lemon meringue pie!......almost....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made this cake with Lemon Frosting tonight for dinner. It was fabulous. I definitely will be making this one all summer. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotaturtle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States