Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Just made and the family ate this cake. Added 2 egg whites to help lighten it up, used whipping cream instead of the milk and used the juice of the lemon and its zest. wowie, it tastes like a lemon drop! I spread a thin layer of raspberry jam on the first layer and covered it up with frosting. Yes, the cake was a tad heavy but good - good - good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
amazing cake, so moist and so favorable. slight change is that i used 1 cup of milk + 1/8 cup of fresh lemon juice, increased lemon zest a bit. served with lemon icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I added lemon extract with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this cake yesterday and it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing! It has just the right amount of lemon flavour and it is moist with a good texture. My husband loves it!I was surprised to see him eat a quarter of the cake in one evening.I made it with a lemon icing. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This cake was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Used whole eggs and only Dr.Oetker limon zest. It is delicious, fluffy and light. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Did not rise but was very moist. I sub 1/8 cup of milk for fresh lemon juice and filled the cake with lemon curd. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I added vanilla, half a squeezed lemon, and used less milk. I enjoyed the slight lemon taste. It was solid and not to soft like the boxed cake mixes can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carhop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Moist and awesome! I am so ecstatic that I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Panadera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake came out extremely well. Mine seems to have a looser crumb than what is pictured here, which is undoubtedly an error on my part somewhere in the mixing process. The flavor is exactly what I anticipated, though in the future I would probably zest 2 whole lemons just to boost that flavor profile. I made this into a Bundt cake and it took 50 minutes to cook. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States