Lemon Gold Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this cake yesterday and it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing! It has just the right amount of lemon flavour and it is moist with a good texture. My husband loves it!I was surprised to see him eat a quarter of the cake in one evening.I made it with a lemon icing. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This cake was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Used whole eggs and only Dr.Oetker limon zest. It is delicious, fluffy and light. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Did not rise but was very moist. I sub 1/8 cup of milk for fresh lemon juice and filled the cake with lemon curd. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I added vanilla, half a squeezed lemon, and used less milk. I enjoyed the slight lemon taste. It was solid and not to soft like the boxed cake mixes can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carhop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Moist and awesome! I am so ecstatic that I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Panadera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake came out extremely well. Mine seems to have a looser crumb than what is pictured here, which is undoubtedly an error on my part somewhere in the mixing process. The flavor is exactly what I anticipated, though in the future I would probably zest 2 whole lemons just to boost that flavor profile. I made this into a Bundt cake and it took 50 minutes to cook. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was pretty good, but it is not something you can reheat. It need more lemon and butter tasted great on it. But the butter made it hard and un-edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very dry. Needs more lemon flavour. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Fabulously textured and zesty lemon flavour. I subbed the 1/8th cup of milk for freshly squeezed lemon juice as recommended by others and find it a good change. I used the cream cheese icing from the Carrot Cake III recipe on this site the 2nd time I made it. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla and added some zest and a wee bit of lemon juice. I found that it was much thicker than the frosting in this recipe. It was deliciously lemony, but a bit too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States