Lemon Glazed Date Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I liked the idea of this recipe better than the finished product. I also agree with Ralwattar's review that there isn't enough batter to fill the pan adequately. Maybe that would help. I ordinarily love dates, so I will try to make this one work. Did like the tartness of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I doubled this recipe and made it gluten free by subbing the flour and adding a half teaspoon of xanthum gum. Took to a party and they were a big hit, everybody loved them! When making the glaze don't heat too long or hot as the butter solids seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Not the greatest. Let me just say, though, that I'm not a big fan of dates. These tasted very healthy, not like a guilty pleasure (which is what a cookie is all about, in my opinion). The lemon glaze helps, but I certainly wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Just drizzle the glaze over the bars because it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
has a good flavor, but i would recommend tripling the ingredients in order to actually fill the 8" by 8" casserole. with the ingredients given, i barely got it spread across half of the casserole. i like the flavors of this recipe, so i think i'm going to tweak it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
i liked this recipe a lot. the richness of the fruit complements the tart acidity of the lemon. i substituted raisins for dates (plumped them up first by cooking them with enough water to cover on the stove - when the water was all absorbed, i ground them up in the food processor) and they taste great! to make the icing more tart, i left out the milk and added more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These were overly sweet, maybe because my chopped dates had sugar on them. I didn't notice that until after I baked them and then looked at the dates again and the second ingredient was sugar. Too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These are wonderful and easy to make. They are very sweet and addictive. I used a 9X9 pan and cut them into 36 little square pieces. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
These were gone in a flash! I don't love dates, so I wasn't sure I'd like these, but they were so good that we couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROOTSDAUGHTER
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Yummy! These are chewy and the lemon really makes it. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead, with no problems. My husband LOVES these served with lemon gelato! My 4 year old would only lick the icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States