Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a favorite of mine that my grandmother used to make. I had lost the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've been making this cake for years. It's the only cake mix cake I still make because everyone loves it. I use a yellow cake mix, increase the water to 3/4 cup, add 1 tsp of the lemon zest (from the lemon for the glaze) and dissolve the jello in the water instead of combining it with the cake mix. The cake gets a slightly more natural flavor using the zest rather than using the lemon cake mix. I also save 1 tsp of the jello powder to use in the glaze. I mix the glaze while the cake is baking so the jello can dissolve in the lemon juice and thicken it slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I made this cake tonight and it is really delicious. I used pudding instead of gelatin this time because when I went to the store that's what I got. But other then that made the recipe as stated and made in 2 loaf pans. Turned out great, give one to my sister for one of her birthday cakes. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe ANNETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by senorateresa
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is the recipe that I have made for Years...The only difference is that I bake it in a 9x13 in. pan...Also, I changed the water to 2/3 c. .....Everything else, is the same...Perfect for all of your Summer Picnics & Potlucks....Refreshing when refrigerated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senorateresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This cake was so-so. I made it with the pudding and used the bundt cake pan and it was a little dry. The glaze was horrible! It was like pouring water all over my cake, it was so runny and I even omitted the water. I made a new batch of glaze, added 2 1/12 to 2 3/4 cup powdered sugar to the batch, a few drops of yellow food coloring and then poured it back and forth over the top of my cake. The glaze turned out wonderful the 2nd time! Not sure I would make this one again, but thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe wife loves it I made with jello gelatin 3/4 oil and 3/4 cup water and 1tsp lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I got rave reviews from this cake. My only qualm was that the syrup tasted a bit too buttery for my liking. Easily fixed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I did not make this cake bc I don't like box cake but I did make the lemon glaze and it was DELICIOUS. I made a homemade Lemon Cake from allrecipes.com and then use this lemon glaze in this recipe and it was delicious. When you taste the lemon glaze it may come off sour but when you put it on the lemon cake and when it cools and all the flavors come together is taste delicious esp with some vanilla ice cream. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This review is for the GLAZE ONLY. This is a 5-star glaze if you replace that last tablespoon of water with more lemon juice or butter. I really love what adding butter to glazes does for them -- so decadent! I used this glaze on AR's "Lemon Gold Cake" and they were very very good together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States