Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The one star is for the glaze. It was way too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamia m
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was a very good, the flavor was lemony also very moist it was also a tangy lemony taste on the icing I will defiantly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was my favorite cake growing up...my Mom has made 30+ years...it was called Lemon Velvet Cake. The glaze is thin because it is supposed to be made as a sheet cake...larger surface and more chance to permeate the cake. While the Bundt pan makes a prettier cake, the glaze does not get a chance to settle into the cake, so some of the flavor is lost. Might want to poke the bottom of the cake and then quickly turn onto cake plate to glaze the top? I like to serve this with raspberries or strawberries and whipped cream....sort of shortcake style. DO NOT substitute pudding mix for the jello....it totally changes the recipe and texture. Adding lemon zest to the batter is nice too. Note...I couldn't get lemon cake mix on my last round, so I used Key Lime cake mix...still used lemon jello and glaze. Lemon and Lime Zest...nice change & interesting color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, using a Bundt pan. However, I used real lemons (instead of lemon juice) and also grated the lemons and added that to glaze. This is the Bomb for a Lemon Cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a wonderful cake, except I did not add the two tablespoons of butter to the glaze and it is very light and summery. I thought the butter made the glaze two greasy and heavy. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The cake was good but just Several differant things that I think will make it more moist next time is to use Pillsbury cake instead of Duncan Hines. Also, I didn't use all of the glaze, only about half and next time I will use most of it if not all of it. I made the cake with lemon pudding instead as was recommended and only needed to bake it for 39-40 minutes instead of 45 minutes. The glaze was very good. As one member recommended, I added 1 TSP of pure vanilla extract and a little lemon zest to the glaze. At first I kept out the water (as so many recommended) but the glaze was super thick (I didn't measure how much powdered sugar I put in but more than the recipe called for) so I ended up adding a little water so the glaze would run in the holes. The cake was delicious and I think with those few changes to make next time, it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a favorite of mine that my grandmother used to make. I had lost the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I've been making this cake for years. It's the only cake mix cake I still make because everyone loves it. I use a yellow cake mix, increase the water to 3/4 cup, add 1 tsp of the lemon zest (from the lemon for the glaze) and dissolve the jello in the water instead of combining it with the cake mix. The cake gets a slightly more natural flavor using the zest rather than using the lemon cake mix. I also save 1 tsp of the jello powder to use in the glaze. I mix the glaze while the cake is baking so the jello can dissolve in the lemon juice and thicken it slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I made this cake tonight and it is really delicious. I used pudding instead of gelatin this time because when I went to the store that's what I got. But other then that made the recipe as stated and made in 2 loaf pans. Turned out great, give one to my sister for one of her birthday cakes. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe ANNETTER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by senorateresa
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is the recipe that I have made for Years...The only difference is that I bake it in a 9x13 in. pan...Also, I changed the water to 2/3 c. .....Everything else, is the same...Perfect for all of your Summer Picnics & Potlucks....Refreshing when refrigerated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senorateresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States