Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My family loves this recipe. We like it a little tarter and I will usually add additional lemon juice to taste. Also lemon zest I'd delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this using Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix, following the recipe on the box, but adding an extra egg which totals four. I also used Jello Instant lemon pudding instead of Jello Mix. The time it takes to cook, really depends on your ovens latitude, but to be sure and not overcook your cake, you can always use the toothpick test after about 30 minutes, making sure it comes out clean. This is about what my cake was finished at, cooking it on convection. As far as the icing for those who said it was to thin, you can always add confection sugar to thicken or use less lemon juice. This is my family's favorite recipe and comes out perfect every time. I gave 5 stars because the recipe I am responding to, is this persons original recipe and you just have to make it your own if you feel something didn't fit your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
The glaze is great! If you want a cake that isn't overpowering with sugar, this would be the one. Excellent lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I actually made this cake twice within 24 hours because it was for my Dad's bday & the first one (Dunkin Hines mix) was really overdone when baked for only 36 mins. The second (Betty C mix) I baked for 30 mins & it wasn't burnt but it was pretty dry & tasted absolutely no different from the cake mix when made by itself without the jello. I even poked many more holes & used more glaze to try to make it moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The one star is for the glaze. It was way too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamia m
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was a very good, the flavor was lemony also very moist it was also a tangy lemony taste on the icing I will defiantly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was my favorite cake growing up...my Mom has made 30+ years...it was called Lemon Velvet Cake. The glaze is thin because it is supposed to be made as a sheet cake...larger surface and more chance to permeate the cake. While the Bundt pan makes a prettier cake, the glaze does not get a chance to settle into the cake, so some of the flavor is lost. Might want to poke the bottom of the cake and then quickly turn onto cake plate to glaze the top? I like to serve this with raspberries or strawberries and whipped cream....sort of shortcake style. DO NOT substitute pudding mix for the jello....it totally changes the recipe and texture. Adding lemon zest to the batter is nice too. Note...I couldn't get lemon cake mix on my last round, so I used Key Lime cake mix...still used lemon jello and glaze. Lemon and Lime Zest...nice change & interesting color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happytech
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, using a Bundt pan. However, I used real lemons (instead of lemon juice) and also grated the lemons and added that to glaze. This is the Bomb for a Lemon Cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a wonderful cake, except I did not add the two tablespoons of butter to the glaze and it is very light and summery. I thought the butter made the glaze two greasy and heavy. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The cake was good but just Several differant things that I think will make it more moist next time is to use Pillsbury cake instead of Duncan Hines. Also, I didn't use all of the glaze, only about half and next time I will use most of it if not all of it. I made the cake with lemon pudding instead as was recommended and only needed to bake it for 39-40 minutes instead of 45 minutes. The glaze was very good. As one member recommended, I added 1 TSP of pure vanilla extract and a little lemon zest to the glaze. At first I kept out the water (as so many recommended) but the glaze was super thick (I didn't measure how much powdered sugar I put in but more than the recipe called for) so I ended up adding a little water so the glaze would run in the holes. The cake was delicious and I think with those few changes to make next time, it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States