Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I made this cake with instant lemon pudding instead of the gelatin and it turned out wonderfully! I poked holes every 1" -2" and let the watery glaze run in so the cake has glaze in it when cut it. Delicious!! Everyone ate it up at my father's 80th birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This exceeded my expectations for a cake mix. No artificial cake mix flavor! I made the cake, just as written, in a Bundt pan. I left out the water in the glaze, which I brushed on with a pastry brush. This is moist, lemony and delicious. My only criticism is the bright yellow color, which advertises "artificial."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I have been searching for this recipe for quite some time, now. VERY similar to one of my aunt's recipes. DELICIOUS!! Only changes I would make is that my cake took only 35 minutes to bake, and don't add the tablespoon of water to the glaze unless absolutely necessary. My glaze was very runny, and pooled around the edges and ran down the sides of the cake, too. Although the outer pieces that got the extra glaze were very tasty, too! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This is a good summery dessert. It is very fresh-tasting and seems light, although a glance at the ingredients will reveal that impression to be misleading. The cake was great and people enjoyed it, but there was one thing that bothered me a bit, which was the color of the cake. It screams YELLOW. I wish there was a way to reduce that fakey bright yellow. Maybe use a pudding rather than a gelatin, as another reviewer said that worked fine. Here are the changes I made based on other reviews: 1. Omitted water from glaze 2. Used a bundt pan 3. Reduced baking time by 4ish minutes 4. Poked holes in the top to allow glaze to penetrate. 5. Added the zest of 1 lemon & 1 tsp. pure vanilla to the icing. Other than that, texture, recipe-ease and taste were all 5 of 5 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This is very good, the lemon flavor is just right. Only changes I made were using 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup oil (instead of 3/4) to reduce the fat a bit. Also used yogurt butter and no water for the glaze. It came out so moist and delicious, my hubby had thirds! Will become the new birthday cake, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Really good and lemony. I made it in a Bundt pan instead of the 9X13 and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you're looking for tangy lemon flavor, choose this recipe! A tip: If using a bundt pan, poke holes in the crevices (as opposed to the crowns) and pour half the glaze. Then, add another cup of confectioners' sugar and a drop of food coloring and pour the rest. This gives a thicker, more colorful glaze. Since my young daughter requested this for her b-day, I topped with multi-colored sprinkles. You could add something a bit more sophisticated (lemon wedges?)if serving adults. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Awesome! Super easy, incredibly moist and tangy! I put the glaze on when the cakes were still warm. I also made 2 loaf size cakes instead of one large one. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I am going to do something I totally hate that is change the recipe and rate it b/c then it really isn't the posted recipe you are rating but your recipe anyway I never have luck baking homemade cakes especially bundt cakes so I used a lemon cake mix and made the glaze as posted. I let the cake cool for about 10 minutes in the pan than turned it onto a wire rack I put serving plate under the rack to catch the drips and spooned the glaze over top there is way too much glaze but that could be b/c I used a cake mix anyway I just kept respooning the dripped glaze over the cake. Served it at a family bbq and got rave reviews the cake is so good thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
So easy and tasted great! Perfect color and flavor for spring or summer. I like a really tart lemon flavor so I substituted lemon juice for water. Also used the advice of others and checked at 30 minutes, which was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States