Lemon Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
To die for!! I was lazy on this one - I didn't feel like chopping an onion, so I used 2 Tbl. minced (dry) onions, and didn't puree the ingredients. I wouldn't change a thing next time! I also pan-fried my shrimp instead of grilling - cooked about 2 minutes on each side, on med. high heat. The second time I made this, I marinated overnight. Although the flavor was wonderful, it made the shrimp turn a little mushy, so I won't do that again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
First off, I cut the recipe in half as I only had 1 1/2 lbs. of 16/20 size shrimp. Not quite sure why this was titled Lemon Ginger Shrimp as neither flavor stood out. Instead this marinade was a GREAT fusion of flavors. The best I've tried in a very long time! Instead of skewering them, I grilled the shrimp in a Brookstone Quick Release BBQ Skillet ...This is a shallow, nonstick grilling skillet with plenty of small holes to let that great grilled flavor through! To me, the ingredients really said 'green onion/scallion' and not regular onion so that's what I used. I marinated the shrimp for 5 hours. Our family's only problem was that there wasn't nearly enough of them, and there were only 3 of us for dinner! Absolutely outstanding flavor with that hint of grilled smokiness to them. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Great recipe. Quick to make. I added 1/4 cup of bourbon whisky to the marinade to add some more zip. It was delicious. I will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks, Zuzka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I eliminated the onion and garlic (for allergies) and and barbequed these on skewers with chunks of pineapple and served them on their own as appetizers. They were delicious and I wiil definitely serve them again. A ginger and cilantro were nice fresh change from garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
These are absolutely wonderful. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. I've already made them twice this week! The first time I cooked these, I cooked them on the grill. The second time, I cooked them on the george foreman - and they came out just as good! I also tried the marinade on asparagus - they were wonderful! I am going to try the marinade on chicken and salmon at a later date. I imagine those will be heavenly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was an excellent recipie! I marinated the shrimp for at least 3 hrs, and then also brushed some on steaks. I put them on skewers and grilled. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipie, Zuzka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Very good! I made this recipe for a dinner party and it was a hit. I added scallops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good! I had a 1.5 pound of 16/20 count shrimp, that I cleaned and deveined. I followed the ingredients and directions as written. I marinated the shrimp for 3 hours and then put the shrimp on the skewers to grill. The grilling time was approximate and fast. I like the blend of flavors -ginger and sesame especially. This is not spicy and has nice subtle flavors. I served this along with, "Herbed Rice Pilaf," and "Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I've been searching for this recipe for years! My favourite Japanese teppan restaurant serves this as the sauce in which to dip teppan shrimp - I love it! My husband likes it on his teppan steak, too. The only thing I changed was parsley instead of cilantro (can't stand cilantro!).Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I was so incredibley pleased with this dish. Even though I didn't follow the directions entirely it was still awesome. I was a little short on lemon juice, ran out of minced garlic and had to use powdered, only had a tiny but of onion to spare and apparenlty my cilantro plant died between the time that I found the recipe and now.... so you know it's good if it still tasted amazing after all of those screw ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Utokia's Tips for Ginger Shrimp & Broccoli

Shrimp and broccoli bake with a ginger and garlic sauce in parchment packets.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States