Lemon Ginger Scones with Brown Rice Flour and Agave Nectar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I've been making scones for years, so I used Celebrine's flour mixture: almond meal, tapioca and brown rice flour and added 1/4 t Xanthum gum as a binder. I also replaced the 1 c. milk with 1/2 c. greek yogurt + 2 T milk. Don't like huge scones so I made the dough into 11 - could easily have been 12. Delicious! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Scones were very salty and bitter. I even used less salt than the recipe called for. Perhaps the 5 tsp of baking powder gave it the bitter taste? Looking for a different recipe, this one did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made some changes to the recipie due to what I had on hand. I had to sub the rice flour (because i didn't want to buy a whole pack and not use it) with whole wheat flour. I also had some goat milk that expired soon, so i used that as the milk. If you really love ginger (like me) put in about 1 1/2 cups and a little extra lemon juice to balance it. You must also flour everything when you are kneading it because it is SUPER sticky. Great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Not sure about this recipe, the scones came out too dry and would barely hold together. I'm wondering if there needs to be more egg or some other binding agent in the recipe? I liked the ginger lemon combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I spent the past several days test baking mini batches of gluten free scones trying to come up with a product I would be comfortable using to barter with a friend for Christmas gifts. This recipe in combination with some techniques learned through other recipes proved the winning combination. Thanks, Magdalinka! I ended up using the proportions in this recipe, but I made a flour mix with roughly 1 part brown rice flour : 1 part almond flour : 1 part tapioca flour. Also, after I cut in the butter, I put the dry ingredients and butter mixture into the freezer for ~10 minutes. I then added the liquid mixture slowly while stirring. I didn't use the ginger or lemon zest and this may be why the flavor is a bit bland at first, but it matures so nicely on the tongue and leaves you wanting more! I did find the lemon to be an important and subtle flavoring. It doesn't give them a lemony flavor, but adds depth and interest to the butteriness! Tomorrow I plan to make them again and play around with adding currants, berries and white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
To die for!!! When you follow directions carefully, these are a great high fiber scone for us GF-ers! So flakey & scrumptious! I added less ginger (didn't have a whole cup). But awesome they were :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Nature
Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
my version was almost a totally new recipe, 2 c rice flour 1 1/2 c corn flour 1/2c splenda instead of agave, no lemon zest, no lemon, no ginger added 1/2 c dried currants delicious nice texture, wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I'm grateful for this recipe and tried it eagerly. Ran into some issues. First, cutting 3/4 cup of butter into dry ingredients takes me WAY more than 10 minutes. Prep for this took me closer to 45-50 min. Also, once I was mixing everything together, the dough got really grainy. It fell apart and stuck to my fingers. A little extra flour helped a little. Rather than one round cut into wedges, I made 8 balls and pressed them, and then had enough left for a round that cut into 4 wedges. I ended up with 12 scones in the end. They bake pretty flat. They taste pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States