Lemon Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This was lovely and citrusy without being too tangy, a reason I tend not to love lemon fillings. It worked very nicely with a yellow cake and Swiss meringue buttercream without clashing with their sweetness. I did use two egg yolks instead of the whole egg, as recommended by previous reviewers. If a truer lemon filling is desired, lemon zest could be substituted for the orange and the OJ reduced or substituted entirely (probably with water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this for the Greek lemon cake. It was amazing. I whipped a pint of whip cream and used the whole thing (more than one cup). it was so fluffy and tart - just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Delicious. I have never had a filling so fluffy, airy-light, fresh tasting. The best filling ever. This is my to go filling for cakes and cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious and so easy! I did take some other reviewers advice and use 2 egg yolks and 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/4 cup O.J. I also added 1/2 tsp lemon extract. After those substitutions, it is definitely lemon filling instead of citrus and is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Welsh Tuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
very nice! Thank you for this recipe, it will be a favorite of mine for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGrama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
It is good but it takes quite a while to thicken. Tastes more like citrus than lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was so delicious! The only change I made was to replace the egg with two egg yolks. I used this as a filling on a vanilla cake. I look forward to making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is easy to make however I agree that there is to much orange flavor for this to be called Lemon filling. Next time I will use 1/2 cup lemon juice and maybe just 2 tablespoons of orange juice. Good flavor just not lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe so light and fluffy. I didn't use the orange rind and it was perfect. I will use this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
tasty but too liquidy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States