Lemon Fiesta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this cake with all organic, non gmo ingredients, for the glaze I used 3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice and 3/4 cup organic sugar...The cake was a hit for my son's birthday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Really good. This cake was just lovely. It had a nice crumb and a nice flavor. They glaze was also amazing. I'm not sure about these weird reviews about it not being sweet enough and such. The cake with the glaze is perfect I didn't change anything other than leaving the raisins out as another reviewer suggests and because I just don't care much for them in softer foods. This is one we will be making again. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Although the flavor is good this cake is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this as directed the first time. It was wonderful. I especially liked the lemon topping. I ate almost all of it by myself! The second time I made it into cupcakes and doubled the lemon zest and used a lemon icing. It was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It was good, but I would never make this specific recipe again if I wanted a lemon cake. I will look elsewhere for a better one. It was much more of a coffee cake texture - you couldn't eat it without a beverage. Otherwise it was good, just not the texture/moistness I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this delicious cake for my sister's birthday cake! It was a big "hit", and everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you for sharing!! Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This cake is better eaten the first day that it is made unless you like a denser cake. It's very light and fluffy the first day but gets denser the second day. I think it also needs a bit more of the lemon topping. I used 4 Tbs. of fresh lemon juice since I like to taste the lemon. I would definitely make it again. Also would be great with blueberries or strawberries on top and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ukienomad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This turned out awesome! I did not have lemon extract, so I replaced 1/4 cup of buttermilk with 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice. Did everything else as written. Delicious, moist, melt in your mouth scrumptious! Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious lemon cake! This cake is very similar to a cake my mom made when I was growing up. I really like that this was a version without a cake mix included in the ingredient list. I did not measure the lemon zest, I just scraped until there was nothing left on the lemon. I also omitted the raisins so that my family would eat the cake. The glaze added a nice amount of sweet/tartness goodness to the cake. Glad I discovered this recipe while looking up a way to use up some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is not attractive but it well makes up for that with the taste. I made it as directed with the exception of subbing lemonade for the lemon extract. I didn't have the extract even though I thought I did. It worked beautifully. I used a pastry brush to put the glaze on the cake. There is plenty of glaze and it makes the cake so moist. The cake looks like cornbread and is not pretty on the outside. The inside is so delicate, soft, moist and tasty. There was plenty of lemon flavor. To me the cake was perfectly sweet. Not too tart and not too sweet. I highly recommend this cake. I would NOT omit the glaze and use another icing. If you want pretty choose another recipe. If you want a good cake, make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States