Lemon Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Ok, I have no idea what the other reviewers commented on, but I don't think it was this recipe?! I LOVE sweets, and in fact being 1 of 7 kids (Big Family) I am the one everyone calls for the "next best dessert" recipe. The icing was way too tangy for the almost pecan pie type underfilling. Imagine a Pecan pie with a tangy lemon icing on top. Not my idea of a good dessert. Sorry to be so negative but these were just not good at all. Dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
These bars were okay but not lemony enough. I agree with another reviewer that something was missing. I also am not sure if I like coconut in lemon bars....I think I will keep on looking. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
EXCELLENT!! Was gone almost as fast as it was made. I really don't like coconut or walnut... BUT.. THIS was OUTRAGEOUSLY GOOD.. & EASY ~! I used about 2x the lemon juice. Will definitely Make again and again and for guests too :) Gotta try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Wow...a great tasting lemon bar that is soft and slightly chewy. Used the zest and juice of 1 lemon (a little more juice than required, but that was ok - just added a bit more sugar)to give it enough tang. Everybody who tried it today loved it - addictive is the word of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
My mom made these when I was a kid.... they're wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I put in 3 tbsp. of lemon juice and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I'm going to make these for our next family gathering. Thanks Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Great recipe! I've now made these 3 times, and have found that also adding about 1/4 tsp of lemon extract will take care of those who don't think that it's "lemony enough".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These bars were good, but just not what I expected. I feel that they're lacking "something" and would not consider them worthy of 5 stars. I would like more of a lemony taste. Not bad, though. I'll see how they go over for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Excellen!!!! My husband thought they were great. I don't like coconut or lemon that much and I thought they were pretty darn good myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I was just looking for a way to use up some lemon zest when I decided to try this, but found a gem of a recipe. Easy to prepare, common pantry ingredients, and extremely tasty. I had more like 3 Tbsp zest, and not quite enough juice so added a Tbsp key lime juice from the refrigerator. Very nice lemony finish on a nice buttery crust, and the nutty chewy filling is addictive. Definitely a short "shelf life" however, given that these will be gone within 24 hours. Can you say "double batch"? Thanks, Sandra; this one will be in my recipe file for another 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States