Lemon Dill Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wonderful salad dressing if you like lemon and dill that is.... If you don't then this really isn't for you. That being said, I cut the recipe in half and used 3/4 cup of Hellman's lite mayo and recplaced the other 1/4 cup with with lite sour cream. If you want to go a little less heavy on the dill you can get away with just 1 Tbsp of that. This is one of those recipes that you can play around with a bit so if you love lemon go with the full 1/4 cup if not go with 2 Tbsp. and use 2 Tbsp. of buttermilk in place of the rest of the lemon juice. I also added 1/4 tsp. of salt. I would not muddy this up with the addition of garlic. This was great over mixed greens. I can also see this as a great veggie dip or dare I be so bold as to say a really simple and tasty potato salad dressing for red skinned potatoes with the addition of some green onion.....I'll have to give it a try some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
i first tasted this dressing at venango inn and golf club.Venango,pa,i contacted your website(all recipes), copied recipe and made it. and it was excellent!!The farmers market lady i got the diil weed from liked the recipe .i used the dill weed fresh. Im going to dry some, but i am freezing some also. what about freezing? please reply
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Good basic recipe, but needed just a touch of salt and garlic to really bring it to life. Great on salads and I also use it as a coating for baking fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Great dressing. I used it for a salad at a picnic and got rave comments on my salad. I'll use this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweety

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I had a WONDERFUL salad dressing two Christmases ago at the Opryland Hotel and it was a creamy dilly dressing, and this is the closest thing I've found that sounds similar. Cannot WAIT to try it and will let everyone know how it is!!! Thanks "anonymous"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I thought this was great!! I've been weaning myself off bottled dressings - they taste too artificial to me. This dressing was nice and fresh. I used it on chef salads, side salads, and as a dipping sauce for crab cakes and squash fritters. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Good dressing, although the mayo stood out a little too much for my tatse. (I split the recipe) but, I added a little more buttermilk, some garlic powder, scallions, and a little sour cream. And I only had fresh dill, I know that dried has a stronger flavor. I will probably make again if I have extra buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Excellent! I was looking for recipes to use up some of my dill gone wild in my herb garden & so I used fresh (lots of it) instead of dried & we loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
My husband liked this dressing more than I did. It was a nice change instead of the usual ranch. You could really taste the lemon so you have to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
The only reason I did not give this recipe a 5-star rating is that I don't care for dill. However, I needed it to make this recipe for a party I was giving. I used this recipe for both as a salad dressing and a coating for salmon. For the salmon, I brushed it on both sides and grilled it. It came out great from what my guests told me. As for the dressing, I thinned out the mixture by adding some milk to it. Everyone loved it too. Thanks for the recipe. I just wished I like dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States