Lemon Dill Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This was really good. I did decrease the salt to 1 teaspoon and it turned out fine. I also just let it cook on the stovetop instead of baking. It was done much quicker and still had a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Since in her description the submitter indicates she "likes to use fresh dill when available," I can only assume that in the recipe where she calls for dill SEED she really meant dill WEED. Dill seed would give this an altogether different flavor, similar to caraway seed - so that's what I used, fresh dill WEED. Baking this for an hour wasn't necessary and perhaps not even advised. Once the onion and rice were browned I added the water and cooked it on the stovetop in the conventional manner, covered and simmered for about 20 minutes. Hubs and I enjoyed this. It had a fresh, delicate flavor of lemon and dill which was the ideal complement to the fish I served with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I did not use all the dill I only used 4 teaspoons of dill in stead of the 2 tablespoons it called for. I also reduced the salt to one teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent! I took away a start for needlessly complicating the recipe, simple keep it in the pot and cook like regular rice, takes about 15 minutes. No need to take up time and space in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I just spent a half hour searching for my printed copy of this recipe and couldn't find it which is why I researched for this dish and decided to rate it. This dish is so incredibly different from traditional rice dishes, so if your tired of the same ol, same old rice dish, you gotta try this. The moisture content is incredible and it goes amazingly well with lemon chicken. The flavors of the onion and lemon make the dish pop and will definitely have people asking how u made it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
after reading the reviews I was on this I was a little skeptical in making it as is so I modified it. This is what I did. I used basmati rice, sauted 2 whole cloves of garlic with the onion, added 2 cups of chicken broth and then 2 cups of water I did not add the salt and only added 1 tsp of dill it turned out perfect, what I did not ,modify I keep the same. this was good served with the lemon garlic chicken on this site. it's 5 stars with modifications. I know I don't like either when people modify things, but I felt I had too with all the bad reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Baking it was a bad idea. I had to continue adding liquids and the rice still came out crunchy. Otherwise the flavors were good. Next time I'll just make it stovetop. I served it w/ poached salmon with lemon juice and capers. Overall it was pretty tasty and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
The dill overpowers every other flavor as is. Use only 1 tsp instead of two tablespoons unless you like rice textured pickles. Had to toss it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Good! The lemon flavor is pretty subtle, so don't skip the lemon zest if you want the flavor to really be there. I used a little olive oil instead of the butter. Very tasty; a great side dish for a fish dinner. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
It was really yum but then again its not quite the same recipe. I didn't put the onion and replaced dill seed with 1 1/2 cup dill herbs. 3 cups water to 2 cups rice on the stovetop, and it was to die for. Sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States