Lemon Dill Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I read the reviews, and added 1/3rd the amount of dill required. I also cooked it on the stovetop in the interests of time. It turned out well, and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Reading other reviews, I was worried that the dill might end up being too strong, but my boyfriend and I both thought it was perfect. I changed the recipe slightly by cooking it in a rice cooker instead of baking and adding a little extra lemon juice (as I didn't have a fresh lemon for the zest) as well as a few dashes of garlic powder. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made this using basmati rice and while I enjoyed it alot,my husband said that it was too lemony I also cut the salt to 1T and used fresh dill I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Trinity, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is great! I love the burst of lemon flavor! I did cut down on the dill. Also, since i didn't want to wait for rice to cook I made couscous instead. I added the lemon to the water before adding the couscous and added the dill as the couscous steamed. I paired it with Lemon Garlic tilapia that I found on this site. Great combo. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was delicious with the Broiled Scallops recipe. Next time less salt and more zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This side dish was really good, except to much salt.Next time I will use less salt. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I just spent a half hour searching for my printed copy of this recipe and couldn't find it which is why I researched for this dish and decided to rate it. This dish is so incredibly different from traditional rice dishes, so if your tired of the same ol, same old rice dish, you gotta try this. The moisture content is incredible and it goes amazingly well with lemon chicken. The flavors of the onion and lemon make the dish pop and will definitely have people asking how u made it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I really like the taste and texture of this dish. It was everything that I thought it would be. I cut the recipe in half for us. I didn't have any lemon zest or parsley, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
after reading the reviews I was on this I was a little skeptical in making it as is so I modified it. This is what I did. I used basmati rice, sauted 2 whole cloves of garlic with the onion, added 2 cups of chicken broth and then 2 cups of water I did not add the salt and only added 1 tsp of dill it turned out perfect, what I did not ,modify I keep the same. this was good served with the lemon garlic chicken on this site. it's 5 stars with modifications. I know I don't like either when people modify things, but I felt I had too with all the bad reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this would be very good with a fish dish. Reading other reviews, I reduced the amount of dried dill weed to 1 teaspoon and it still overpowered the dish. My husband couldn't even eat it. Also, I took other's advice and cooked on the stove-top due to time. While the reduced dill was still very strong for me (a dill lover), I think the dish has potential. The lemon zest topping was great and I liked the idea of cooking it in lemon juice. If you are unsure of the dill flavor, start with a small amount, you can always increase it but you can't remove it. I served this with Broiled Tilapia Parmesan (Yummy!) from this site and Roasted Asparagus. I even took some leftover lemon zest and topped the asparagus and fish, which was a very good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States