Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This recipe is a definite keeper! It's to the point that I have to double the recipe when I make this anymore! I just add an extra Tbl spoon of lemon juice. We love lemon! Thank you for sharing Mare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Just made this tonight. Had read through the other reviews and felt confident that it would be good with the original but I added one item that I had on hand and needed to use. I added two cups of finely diced rhubarb...it was amazing! Thank you for this! I have already shared it with friends...they were amazed that it actually makes a pudding on the bottom! YAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I did add more juice - I just used all of the juice from 1 lemon (and all of the zest from 1 lemon). Not because the recipe needed altering, just because I was being lazy with measurments. My pudding cake did not over brown at all. Great recipe that I'll use over and over again - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great, a little too sweet, will put 1/2c less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Made this dessert late this afternoon as the recipe said -- no changes. Sugar & lemon amounts were fine. My husband loved it -- said it's a keeper. We tried it about an hour after coming out of the oven. Will be baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen L Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Exactly by the recipe....350 for one hour....custard set nicely and while loose, was not runny...served cold, which probably helped the custard firm up....excellent recipe as is....is it sweet, well yes, it's called dessert....used zest of two lemons and juice from both or about 2 tblspns...suggest trying as is before altering recipe...a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
It tasted great, but had a really weird texture. The cake part was light and foamy (it made angel food cake feel dense), and the pudding part was unusual. I've forgotten what I thought would be better in place of the pudding, but I remember thinking the textures did not go well together. (I think the pudding needed a denser cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and bake it in a bread pan for 50 min. I have made it a few times now and it's delicious. I only give it three stars because as is, it's too sweet and too mild on the lemon flavor, but I really appreciate the overall idea of pudding on the bottom, cake in the middle, and spongy meringue on top. When I cut it in half, I don't cut the lemon and zest in half. To balance out the additional juice, I add another egg yolk. Lastly I reduce the sugar by 1/4 c. (for 1/2 recipe). I also tried this with limes, but found lemon to be better. It works great with whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
this was delicious!!!!!! i mean, delicious. i cut the sugar too, down my 1/2 cup but next time i will cut it by 3/4. i also used meyer lemons which was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I made this recipe last night and it was delicious. I did put 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 like others mentioned and I did put a little bit more lemon juice. It was easy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States