Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Good warm but WAY better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Wow! I have NEVER had anything quite like this before! So light and delicious! The only thing I altered was to add a half teaspoon of lemon extract (I didn't have any zest!), but other than that I made as is. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Waaay too SWEET! I like my lemon desserts TANGY! What I did: Used only 1.5 cups sugar (orig. 2cups) Used 3.5 TBS lemon juice (orig. 2 TBS) No zest (orig. 1 1/2 TBS) No powdered sugar (orig. 1/4 cup) Result: Too sweet. No lemon tang What I'd do next time: Use only 1 cup sugar (orig. 2 cups) 6+ TBS lemon juice (orig. 2 TBS) Use only 1 1/4 cup milk (depending on how much extra lemon juice added) (orig. 1 1/2 cups) I personally don't like zest (diminishes lemon tang/too bitter) but the cake part ,imo, was in need of something. So you just might want to maybe sprinkle some zest over top of cake just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is awesome!WOW LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was good, but the texture sure surprised me. It tasted like a moist sponge cake, which is fine if you like sponge cake. If you don't, you probably won't like this. Cut the sugar to 1.5 cups - it's plenty. I made this lactose free by using oil and soy milk and it was fine. Watch it carefully, the top burns easily so you may need to turn the temperature down in middle. And don't cut the lemon zest, I did and I felt the flavor wasn't strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
this was very interesting to make! even though i didn't have the right pan, i used a glass bowl, the recipe came out great! i followed the recipe to the mark and didn't think it was too sweet. however, i do really really really recommend covering the top loosely in foil as it browns too quickly. i made this for my cousin and husband who love lemon and they thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
It was just okay for me. I like chocolate lava cake better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is my first time baking. It turns out great. The outer layer is a bit crispy and spongy (cake) but the bottom is gorgeous; it's a lemon pudding. It's so good. I will definitely make it again without dropping the food colouring. Very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I like it but the bottom was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States