Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Maybe I messed up, but it never really left the wet pudding stage. It was like the filling of lemon bars with a merengue top. tasted yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Did NOT turn out well. I don't know if I did something wrong, but it was too custardy and not very puddingy (if that's a word). It almost had the texture of quiche on the bottom (disturbing when you are expecting pudding), and I pulled it out of the oven early! There wasn't enough lemon though I added extra- I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is absolutely AMAZING!!! We lovedd it!! It was super easy to make and definatley company worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My husband and I both really enjoyed this dessert last night. That said, I used the juice and zest from one whole lemon, which amounted to about 1 T. of zest and about 3 1/2 T. of lemon juice. I think the lemon flavor was fine. I agree with some of the reviewers who said it was a little too sweet, so I would cut out some of the sugar next time. I also thought that the pudding was a little too runny even though I baked it for the full 60 minutes, uncovered. (It's still runny even though it's been in the refrigerator overnight.)I might use a little less milk next time. The recipe is very similar to an over 100 year old recipe that I use for a lemon sponge pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jakeberry
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
What a refreshing, light textured dessert. I used about 1 3/4 cups of sugar and 3 tablespoons of fresh squeezed lemon juice. Next time I'll use all the juice the lemon produces. This one will definitely be made again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jakeberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I have made this twice... and both times there are no leftovers!! If you like lemon desserts you must try it! I did follow a suggestion to cover the cake for most of the cooking time (with foil) to keep it from browning too quickly and it came out perfect both times. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is great! A bit sweet, but very delicious. Everyone loved it! Would be great with crushed cookies for texture or a little ice cream and raspberries to make it extra special; but, still wonderful on its own. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was surprisingly AMAZING! I had no idea that the top would be cake with gooey lemon custard underneath! It was delicious. My only gripe is that the recipe calls for WAY too much sugar! I even cut the sugar in half and it was still too sweet! Next time I will try only 3/4cup sugar. Also, don't bother adding sugar to the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholic720

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is one of the better pudding cakes in Allrecipes! However, I did cut the sugar down 1/2 cup and might even try another 1/2 cup next time I make it. I prefer more of the lemon tartness to the sweet sweet lemon that this is. But, it is still one great recipe! Be sure and cover it with foil after you see it is golden brown; it will get too dark if you don't. Thanks to 'Mare' for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
The taste was not bad but it was too sweet even after changing the sugar measurement to 1 cup. It should be a nice cake if wasn't be so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States