Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This tasted good but the consistency wasn't so good, it was way too liquidy and i had to bake it for much longer to even get the custard consistency. Other than that it tasted good tho a bit too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I just made this cake. My family and I love lemon treats, We loved the flavor of this cake! It was just the right sweet & tarty flavor. The only reason I gave it a rate of 3 Is the consistancy of the cake. It wanted to brown fast on the top but not cook in the middle. I followed the recipe to the T but it still came out like a curddled custard in the middle, I even cooked it for extra time when I checked it after the time that the recipe calls for. I will probably try it agian but maybe loosely covered and at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My dad loves lemon, but this was too sweet, and the "pudding" was soupy. After we ate the "lemon souop" we put the leftovers in the fridge and THEN it turned to Custard/Lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was easy and delicious! I will be adding this recipe to my "most popular" things to make during the holidays or any time. It is superb. And yes, it's supposed to be runny...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arizona City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
absolutely loved it!!!!!! i added a teaspoon of baking powder, no zest and 1/3 a cup of lemon juice,i wanted it more cake like.. came out amazing! thanks x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninalicious
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I found this to be way to sweet and not to have a lemony taste at all. Also I found that the layers didn't separate, the top seemed to mushy and the bottom too gelatinous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I'm not really sure if the issues with this cake were due to the cake itself or the baker but this did not turn out well for me. I made it exactly as the recipe read but when I cooked it the top portion came out really soggy. It was beautifully golden on top and I could see the custard pudding consistency on the bottom but I could not get the top to taste done. I covered it so that it would stop browning and tried to cook in a bit longer but I think this made things worse. Also, I was hoping it would have a more tart lemon taste. I just might not be a custard pudding cake kind of person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made this tonight and was pleasantly surprised how it turned out. Fairly easy to make, the cake/top part was nice and spongy and the pudding was a good consistency. I followed other reviews and cut back a little on my sugar (1.5 cups vs. 2 in the recipe) and added more lemon juice (3 Tbs). Even without the powdered sugar on top (didn't haev any), it was still more sweet than lemon-flavored. Next time, I will add even more lemon juice and zest. Definitely add a lot more lemon juice than the recipe calls for. Overall, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corsetopia
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was great! Instead of using the 2 quart dish, I used a 1 quart and slashed all the ingredients in half. I worked out really well because 1 quart makes easily enough for 4 people. The dessert is so rich that you'll only need a small sliver of it, and you can really taste the lemony tartness. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was excellent and everyone loved it...but everyone also agreed, it was just too sweet. I will cut the sugar in half the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States