Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was our first time making custard and it turned out great. We followed the instructions to the letter and were very pleased. Super lemon taste, slightly tart, slightly sweet - the perfect balance. My 15-year old daughter made the custard with no help and was very successful. We used it as filling on a white layer cake. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know why so many people have a problem with this recipe because it is delicious! Not corn starchy at all! I did make a few slight modifications: ~I have made this twice, and the second time used a little less sugar. ~I beat egg yolks in the bowl, and added the lemon juice and a little zest. ~In a saucepan, I melted the sugar, butter, and salt in half the water. I whisked the corn starch in the other half of the water, then once everything was melted, added the starch water and cook until desired consistency. ~Then, I added the sugar mixture to the egg mixture in small amounts until well blended. I used this to make lemon crepes and lemon tarts. I love it. I tried the lemon flavored jello, and this recipe has a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Thick and creamy! Good also with orange extract+vanella mixed with water up to the amount needed of lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe! Important that I follow Scott d BBQ man's directions. I whipped to egg whites into a topping & this was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
After following the advise of Scott d BBQ man, I changed the method of adding ingredients. I combined the dry mix with water and cooked till thick. Then tempered in the yolks and cooked about a minute longer. Then added in the lemon juice....and as I'm writing this I realized I forgot the butter!! Oops! After adding the juice, I removed from the heat. This will be my go to recipe every time I need a thick lemon filling or custard! Even without the butter, it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I used this for filling between 2 white cake layers and my family loved it!! They all went crazy and had seconds! Great recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This lemon filling was absolutely divine! I filled a yellow cake with this and covered it with a chocolate frosting that I found on this site, and it was fabulous. I made the cake a day ahead, and this didn't make my cake soggy at all. It tasted especially good because the cake reached room temp while the filling was still cold and firm. Everyone raved about it. I did add an extra tablespoon of lemon juice, though, since I like a powerful lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was so good and tart, I used it in a lemon cake I made for my fathers 80th b'day party and the people raved about the cake and the filling. Thanks! Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is an awesome recipe!! I use this filling with a cream cake recipe I found on this site (Creamy White Layers). I also keep a portion of the custard and fold in some whipped cream to frost the cake. It's makes a wonderful light and tasty lemon dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
excellent for cakes filling, i´ve reduced the cornstarch 1 tspn, and i´d mixed 2 tspn more of lemon juice, cause i like a lot the lemon tasty... recomendable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States