Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I wanted to use this as filling between cake layers. The lemon flavor is very mild, consitency was perfect for a filling, but the flavor was just very weak even after adding extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made this along with David's Yellow Cake (substituting the vanilla for lemon extract), Lemon Curd and Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting into a 4 layer cake for my Mom in Law's birthday. She ran away with the cake! Adjusted it by adding an additional 1/8 cup of half and half and 2 more tablespoons of butter after taking it off the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I consider myself somewhat expienced at making custards. This one was horrible with a strong taste of cornstarch. It was not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I used this for a custard filling for a tart. I read about the cornstarch from other reviewers, so used a bit less of that. I'm also into turbinado sugar lately, so used that instead of white (just a bit less than called for for white), and also added LEMON ZEST (about 1 1/2 tsp). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was so good and tart, I used it in a lemon cake I made for my fathers 80th b'day party and the people raved about the cake and the filling. Thanks! Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This is a quick and easy filling. It is delicious. I used it for mini tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
the taste is precise and light too, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Came out way too thick for the liquid ratio to the thickening. Not very flavorable. Maybe put some almond or vanilla extract in it and increase the liquid. Not good...should of maid lemon curd instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was not at all what i was looking for. i wanted something that was like the filling of a lemon doughnut. but this was not it. If you like the way cornstarch tastes. you will love this, because that is what it tastes like, with a lemon twang at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This was very good. However, I did add 1/2 tsp. lemon extract for a stonger lemon flavor and only used 3 tbsp. of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States