Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Thick and creamy! Good also with orange extract+vanella mixed with water up to the amount needed of lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueheartless

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
After following the advise of Scott d BBQ man, I changed the method of adding ingredients. I combined the dry mix with water and cooked till thick. Then tempered in the yolks and cooked about a minute longer. Then added in the lemon juice....and as I'm writing this I realized I forgot the butter!! Oops! After adding the juice, I removed from the heat. This will be my go to recipe every time I need a thick lemon filling or custard! Even without the butter, it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
excellent for cakes filling, i´ve reduced the cornstarch 1 tspn, and i´d mixed 2 tspn more of lemon juice, cause i like a lot the lemon tasty... recomendable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I was craving a lemon custard type dessert and decided to try this with some modifications. I used 2% milk instead of water and followed another reviewer's suggestions to temper the egg yolk with the milk-sugar-starch mixture. I added lemon zest in addition to the lemon juice for extra flavor and omitted the butter. I chilled it for an hour then froze it for another 2-3 hours. It was refreshing and had a nice texture although perhaps a little too sweet to be eaten alone. Next time I will try this as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know why so many people have a problem with this recipe because it is delicious! Not corn starchy at all! I did make a few slight modifications: ~I have made this twice, and the second time used a little less sugar. ~I beat egg yolks in the bowl, and added the lemon juice and a little zest. ~In a saucepan, I melted the sugar, butter, and salt in half the water. I whisked the corn starch in the other half of the water, then once everything was melted, added the starch water and cook until desired consistency. ~Then, I added the sugar mixture to the egg mixture in small amounts until well blended. I used this to make lemon crepes and lemon tarts. I love it. I tried the lemon flavored jello, and this recipe has a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is essentially a good recipe. I did make some tweaks tho that I think will solve most of the issues I see. First of all, as with any yolk custard, you want everything ready ahead of time. Do NOT mix the water with the egg yolks. Beat the yolks separately. Use only 3 tbl of Corn Starch. Add the dry ingredients to the pot to the pot, then add the water. Heat on med stirring constantly until thick and bubbly. Mixture will be VERY thick. Temper mixture into the yolks slowly until you have incorporated half of the mixture into the yolks. Scoop the yolk mixture back into the pan and cook for exactly one more minute. Remove from heat and blend in the lemon juice. Then blend in the butter and beat for 30 seconds. I think you will find a better taste and texture with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe for a tart or what I used it for, a danish. Very good lemon taste (double the amount of fresh lemon). If you're on the east coast the filling is like a Tastycake Pie or Hostess Pie. I don't think this is for a cake but more so for a tart, pie, danish, or donut. This is a simple recipe I can't imagine what other did to have a poor result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
After reading the reveiws, I still wanted to try this recipie...sorry the reviews were right, It's to thick to use as a cake filling and has was to much cornstarch, out of desperation( cake needs to be out in the morning) I mixed it with a vinilla custard and it was very good. I do not reccomend this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This did not taste good, and even though I followed the directions precisely, as soon as I spread this between the layers and put the top cake on, it went splat down the sides. Not thick enough to be a filling, and not tasty enough either. Had to scrape it off the cake and throw it out. A waste of my time and my ingredients. I cannot recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is an awesome recipe!! I use this filling with a cream cake recipe I found on this site (Creamy White Layers). I also keep a portion of the custard and fold in some whipped cream to frost the cake. It's makes a wonderful light and tasty lemon dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States