Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I was craving a lemon custard type dessert and decided to try this with some modifications. I used 2% milk instead of water and followed another reviewer's suggestions to temper the egg yolk with the milk-sugar-starch mixture. I added lemon zest in addition to the lemon juice for extra flavor and omitted the butter. I chilled it for an hour then froze it for another 2-3 hours. It was refreshing and had a nice texture although perhaps a little too sweet to be eaten alone. Next time I will try this as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know why so many people have a problem with this recipe because it is delicious! Not corn starchy at all! I did make a few slight modifications: ~I have made this twice, and the second time used a little less sugar. ~I beat egg yolks in the bowl, and added the lemon juice and a little zest. ~In a saucepan, I melted the sugar, butter, and salt in half the water. I whisked the corn starch in the other half of the water, then once everything was melted, added the starch water and cook until desired consistency. ~Then, I added the sugar mixture to the egg mixture in small amounts until well blended. I used this to make lemon crepes and lemon tarts. I love it. I tried the lemon flavored jello, and this recipe has a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is essentially a good recipe. I did make some tweaks tho that I think will solve most of the issues I see. First of all, as with any yolk custard, you want everything ready ahead of time. Do NOT mix the water with the egg yolks. Beat the yolks separately. Use only 3 tbl of Corn Starch. Add the dry ingredients to the pot to the pot, then add the water. Heat on med stirring constantly until thick and bubbly. Mixture will be VERY thick. Temper mixture into the yolks slowly until you have incorporated half of the mixture into the yolks. Scoop the yolk mixture back into the pan and cook for exactly one more minute. Remove from heat and blend in the lemon juice. Then blend in the butter and beat for 30 seconds. I think you will find a better taste and texture with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe for a tart or what I used it for, a danish. Very good lemon taste (double the amount of fresh lemon). If you're on the east coast the filling is like a Tastycake Pie or Hostess Pie. I don't think this is for a cake but more so for a tart, pie, danish, or donut. This is a simple recipe I can't imagine what other did to have a poor result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
After reading the reveiws, I still wanted to try this recipie...sorry the reviews were right, It's to thick to use as a cake filling and has was to much cornstarch, out of desperation( cake needs to be out in the morning) I mixed it with a vinilla custard and it was very good. I do not reccomend this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This did not taste good, and even though I followed the directions precisely, as soon as I spread this between the layers and put the top cake on, it went splat down the sides. Not thick enough to be a filling, and not tasty enough either. Had to scrape it off the cake and throw it out. A waste of my time and my ingredients. I cannot recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is an awesome recipe!! I use this filling with a cream cake recipe I found on this site (Creamy White Layers). I also keep a portion of the custard and fold in some whipped cream to frost the cake. It's makes a wonderful light and tasty lemon dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I wanted to use this as filling between cake layers. The lemon flavor is very mild, consitency was perfect for a filling, but the flavor was just very weak even after adding extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made this along with David's Yellow Cake (substituting the vanilla for lemon extract), Lemon Curd and Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting into a 4 layer cake for my Mom in Law's birthday. She ran away with the cake! Adjusted it by adding an additional 1/8 cup of half and half and 2 more tablespoons of butter after taking it off the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I consider myself somewhat expienced at making custards. This one was horrible with a strong taste of cornstarch. It was not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States