Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I love this used in for the filling in a lemon cake...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used this Recipe for the middle of a vanilla cake It was cake mix . IT was good bu y. I wished it was thicker . Instead it was a little runny besides that delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAFNoahThomas97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe! Important that I follow Scott d BBQ man's directions. I whipped to egg whites into a topping & this was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe went from thin to super clumpy in about two seconds. I whisked until I could break most of the clumps apart. It didn't taste eggy so I know the eggs weren't scrambled but it had an odd texture compared to other curds I've made. Perhaps there was a bit too much cornstarch but I was able to use it for my cake filling anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Yummy! This recipe is great. I modified it a little bit with less cornstarch (3 tbs only) and a little less water and sugar. For two egg yokes I think the less sugar and water make it taste perfect. This recipe is so good and I used one real lemon and squeezed it twice into the saucepan while I stirred the eggs on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was our first time making custard and it turned out great. We followed the instructions to the letter and were very pleased. Super lemon taste, slightly tart, slightly sweet - the perfect balance. My 15-year old daughter made the custard with no help and was very successful. We used it as filling on a white layer cake. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Francie S
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed Scott d BBQ man's advice from May 10, 2010 by cutting down the corn starch and rendering the egg yolks. I decided that the butter would melt better if I added it before the lemon juice. It took some time to thicken up, so I think the people who had trouble with this recipe did not stir long enough. After I made this, I let it cool and then covered it and put in the refridgerator over night. In the morning I whipped some heavy whipping cream with sugar and vanilla. After stiff peaks formed, I folded the lemon custard into it. I then stuffed puffed pastry with the lemon infused whipped cream and strawberries. WOW.. What a wonderful treat. My husband and the girls at work loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Thick and creamy! Good also with orange extract+vanella mixed with water up to the amount needed of lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
After following the advise of Scott d BBQ man, I changed the method of adding ingredients. I combined the dry mix with water and cooked till thick. Then tempered in the yolks and cooked about a minute longer. Then added in the lemon juice....and as I'm writing this I realized I forgot the butter!! Oops! After adding the juice, I removed from the heat. This will be my go to recipe every time I need a thick lemon filling or custard! Even without the butter, it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
excellent for cakes filling, i´ve reduced the cornstarch 1 tspn, and i´d mixed 2 tspn more of lemon juice, cause i like a lot the lemon tasty... recomendable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States