Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The ingredients and the proportions are perfect in my opinion, but for the method, follow the instructions of reviewer Scott d BBQ Man. You need to mix the dry ingredients together with the water, and cook and whisk continuously until thick. Keep the beaten yolks separate until the mixture is as thick as you want it to be. Then put a few spoonfuls of the white mixture into the eggs, beat vigorously by hand, add a bit more, repeat, and eventually put the whole combined mixture back into the pot that's on the heat and continue to cook and whisk for one additional minute. Then finish by removing from heat and whisking in juice and butter. Do not stop stirring at any stage or it will clump up. Believe me, it's worth it. I wanted to eat the whole thing with a spoon without putting it on the cake. It made enough to make a thick layer between my two cake layers (8" cake) and also a layer on the top (underneath the icing - made it extra delicious!). Oh and I don't have a double boiler and just used a very thick-bottomed saucepan and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
It tastes AMAZING!!! I would definitely make it again,although,it does smell weird and on the directions when it says "take off heat and cool" so I didn't know if I was supposed to put it in the fridge or not. It still tastes great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
It will turn out better if the cornstarch is mixed with the water first to avoid lumpiness and then add it and the beaten egg yolks to the dry ingredients. I used fresh cut Persian lemons from one of my lemon trees squeezing up to 4 lemon skins after I took the juice and this way I got the lemon oil as well. I highly recommend this recipe. ...ARG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alma Rosa Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I love this used in for the filling in a lemon cake...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used this Recipe for the middle of a vanilla cake It was cake mix . IT was good bu y. I wished it was thicker . Instead it was a little runny besides that delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAFNoahThomas97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe! Important that I follow Scott d BBQ man's directions. I whipped to egg whites into a topping & this was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe went from thin to super clumpy in about two seconds. I whisked until I could break most of the clumps apart. It didn't taste eggy so I know the eggs weren't scrambled but it had an odd texture compared to other curds I've made. Perhaps there was a bit too much cornstarch but I was able to use it for my cake filling anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Yummy! This recipe is great. I modified it a little bit with less cornstarch (3 tbs only) and a little less water and sugar. For two egg yokes I think the less sugar and water make it taste perfect. This recipe is so good and I used one real lemon and squeezed it twice into the saucepan while I stirred the eggs on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was our first time making custard and it turned out great. We followed the instructions to the letter and were very pleased. Super lemon taste, slightly tart, slightly sweet - the perfect balance. My 15-year old daughter made the custard with no help and was very successful. We used it as filling on a white layer cake. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Francie S
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed Scott d BBQ man's advice from May 10, 2010 by cutting down the corn starch and rendering the egg yolks. I decided that the butter would melt better if I added it before the lemon juice. It took some time to thicken up, so I think the people who had trouble with this recipe did not stir long enough. After I made this, I let it cool and then covered it and put in the refridgerator over night. In the morning I whipped some heavy whipping cream with sugar and vanilla. After stiff peaks formed, I folded the lemon custard into it. I then stuffed puffed pastry with the lemon infused whipped cream and strawberries. WOW.. What a wonderful treat. My husband and the girls at work loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States