Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is essentially a good recipe. I did make some tweaks tho that I think will solve most of the issues I see. First of all, as with any yolk custard, you want everything ready ahead of time. Do NOT mix the water with the egg yolks. Beat the yolks separately. Use only 3 tbl of Corn Starch. Add the dry ingredients to the pot to the pot, then add the water. Heat on med stirring constantly until thick and bubbly. Mixture will be VERY thick. Temper mixture into the yolks slowly until you have incorporated half of the mixture into the yolks. Scoop the yolk mixture back into the pan and cook for exactly one more minute. Remove from heat and blend in the lemon juice. Then blend in the butter and beat for 30 seconds. I think you will find a better taste and texture with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
The recipe has lemon JUICE in the ingredients and says lemon EXTRACT in the directions. I assumed it was juice because, hey, who would use 2/3 c of extract! It came out pretty gelatinous (sort of stiff) I may have cooked it too long. And it had a strong sort of bite to it (could've been the lemons). I used it for a filling for a white cake so I whipped some whipping cream and used about 1/2 whipped cream, 1/2 lemon custard and it was all the rave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I wanted to use this as filling between cake layers. The lemon flavor is very mild, consitency was perfect for a filling, but the flavor was just very weak even after adding extra lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I don't know why so many people have a problem with this recipe because it is delicious! Not corn starchy at all! I did make a few slight modifications: ~I have made this twice, and the second time used a little less sugar. ~I beat egg yolks in the bowl, and added the lemon juice and a little zest. ~In a saucepan, I melted the sugar, butter, and salt in half the water. I whisked the corn starch in the other half of the water, then once everything was melted, added the starch water and cook until desired consistency. ~Then, I added the sugar mixture to the egg mixture in small amounts until well blended. I used this to make lemon crepes and lemon tarts. I love it. I tried the lemon flavored jello, and this recipe has a much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This is a quick and easy filling. It is delicious. I used it for mini tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was not at all what i was looking for. i wanted something that was like the filling of a lemon doughnut. but this was not it. If you like the way cornstarch tastes. you will love this, because that is what it tastes like, with a lemon twang at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This was very good. However, I did add 1/2 tsp. lemon extract for a stonger lemon flavor and only used 3 tbsp. of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I used less cornstarch than the recipe called for and it still had a "raw" cornstarch taste. The balance seems to be off. It did have a nice lemon flavor. I would adjust the cornstarch again, and try cooking it longer to blend the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This did not turn out for me at all. It did not get very thick and it tasted like cornstarch. Maybe I did something wrong? Ended up filling the cake with whipped cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
After following the advise of Scott d BBQ man, I changed the method of adding ingredients. I combined the dry mix with water and cooked till thick. Then tempered in the yolks and cooked about a minute longer. Then added in the lemon juice....and as I'm writing this I realized I forgot the butter!! Oops! After adding the juice, I removed from the heat. This will be my go to recipe every time I need a thick lemon filling or custard! Even without the butter, it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Juice a Lemon

Watch the best, easiest way to juice a lemon, fast!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States