Lemon Custard Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
The recipe has lemon JUICE in the ingredients and says lemon EXTRACT in the directions. I assumed it was juice because, hey, who would use 2/3 c of extract! It came out pretty gelatinous (sort of stiff) I may have cooked it too long. And it had a strong sort of bite to it (could've been the lemons). I used it for a filling for a white cake so I whipped some whipping cream and used about 1/2 whipped cream, 1/2 lemon custard and it was all the rave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
very nice. my hubby flipped over it! added it to a simple sponge cake and simply sprinkled it with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I used this for filling between 2 white cake layers and my family loved it!! They all went crazy and had seconds! Great recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This did not turn out for me at all. It did not get very thick and it tasted like cornstarch. Maybe I did something wrong? Ended up filling the cake with whipped cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This lemon filling was absolutely divine! I filled a yellow cake with this and covered it with a chocolate frosting that I found on this site, and it was fabulous. I made the cake a day ahead, and this didn't make my cake soggy at all. It tasted especially good because the cake reached room temp while the filling was still cold and firm. Everyone raved about it. I did add an extra tablespoon of lemon juice, though, since I like a powerful lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I used less cornstarch than the recipe called for and it still had a "raw" cornstarch taste. The balance seems to be off. It did have a nice lemon flavor. I would adjust the cornstarch again, and try cooking it longer to blend the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I've made this stuff so many times, it's a hit with my patients. I'm a nurse working with severely depressed geriatric patients in a community mental health clinic, and I offer them choices of cakes for me to bake for their birthdays. This is a top favorite. Yeah, kinda thick, kinda cornstarchy, but as some leave and others take their place, the word gets around that, "...if it's your birthday, ask for her lemon cake!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This was very good. However, I did add 1/2 tsp. lemon extract for a stonger lemon flavor and only used 3 tbsp. of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was not at all what i was looking for. i wanted something that was like the filling of a lemon doughnut. but this was not it. If you like the way cornstarch tastes. you will love this, because that is what it tastes like, with a lemon twang at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Came out way too thick for the liquid ratio to the thickening. Not very flavorable. Maybe put some almond or vanilla extract in it and increase the liquid. Not good...should of maid lemon curd instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States